In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

To leave a mark in a field, it is true that we need to be influenced and motivated by the past achievements in that field, but sometimes, this philosophy may not turn out to be true.

"Records are made to be Broken" is as famous quote and though being a pun, it has a lot of truth to it. In the field of sports, all sportsmen look upto the records set by the previous top players. And this keeps the sportsmen constantly motivated and diligent. Usain Bolt, "the fastest man alive" has broken a lot of records in sprinting events and sprinters definelty look upto him. This not only keeps them motivated but also improves the quality of their play.

Role Models play another important role when it comes to performing beyond the excellent bar. All of successful people in the world, have had a role model in front of them the whole time. The prime minister of India, Narendra Modi has had Swami Vivekanda who is regarded as the symbol of light, youth and confidence as his Role Model. And if you closely observe the methodologies Modi follows, you will find them resembling to the teachings of Swami Vivekanda.

But that being said, to excel in something where there is no past achievement or attempts, requires a lot of courage and confidence. Take for example the first moon landing. Mankind had never imagined that someday, we would be exploring the moon. There was no past achievement as big as this one ever known to humans. Similarly, conquering the Mount Everest seemed impossible until Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay successfully did so.

In conclusion, successful people and their past achievements do help in leaving a mark, but the ones who are self-motivated, willing to do the impossible, and look beyond the previous achievements carve out history.