The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this issue, the author claims that human mind is always going to remain superior to a machine as machine is in turn a human creation. I would disagree with this claim due to the following reasons.

Firstly, we should understand the main reason behind creation of machines. Machines are created by humans to make the human job easier, faster and convinient. And as mankind progresses, the jobs are getting smarter and smarter, and hence the machines that we are building for our convinience are also getting smarter and faster. Take for example a computer; 20 years ago no one would have dreamed that something as advanced as a computer would be carried by almost every human on the planet, simply in their pockets (smartphones). The job requirements for a person are also increasing day by day, because easier jobs are now done by machines.

There have been several instances where a machine has beat a human record holder in a particular activity. Recently, in the board game "GO", an artificial machine beat the top human "Go" player in a matter of minutes. It is safe to say that the "GO" player machine is superior to any human "GO" player on this planet. Robot "Sophia" has also been granted US citizenship. Human mind is viewed superior only because it is the cause for building a certain machine. However, there are also few machines which are capable of generating new machines. Now this is what challenges the author's statement. If such machines become popular, there would be no real challange for a machine mind.

However, we are far from the era when machine mind will be as powerful as human mind. Although machines are becoming smarter, they are really just able to beat humans in a particular task. An all powerful machine is still a dream far from reality. But someday, this dream might turn into a prosperous reality or a nightmare for mankind.

Hence, I disagree with the author's claim, as there have been instances where humans have been beated by machines. Although an all powerful machine has not yet been developed, it soon might be.