In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author wants to convince the readers that the obesity rate of the city will soon fall down below the national average. This argument may look convincing at first look, but it is filled with questionable assumptions and vague evidences.

One of the biggest assumptions that the author is making is that exercise is the sole factor determining healthier lifestyles and obesity. The recent survey conducted focusses on the city residents and observations are made on increasing number of 'daily walks'. But is the population increase taken into consideration while making these obervations? It might happen that the rate of population increase may exceed the rate of increase in the 'daily walks'. Moreover, are the walkers the same people taken walks twice in a day? This evidence is missing from the argument.

The author mentions the closing of few gymnasiums but a full attendance in sports complexes and gymnasiums during some seasons. Here there is not a mention of number of sports complexes and gyms being shut down as well as opena, and the closing down of gyms may be due to the inactivity of those gyms. The full attendance may be observed not because of the healthy habits of residents but because of a less number of functional gyms. Moreover, a full attendance is seen only during some seasons, what about the other seasons?

Finally, the author predicts that the obesity rate of Slimville city residents would fall below the national average. But is exercise the only factor determining obesity in a person? If a person exercises daily for sometime and eats voraciously, beyond the required calories, his daily exercise wont help him in loosing weight.

In general, all these points call out for some missing evidences, which if they would have been present, would have made this argument a convincing one.