Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational Institutes are supposed to provide students with lots of knowledge from a variety of fields. And the students should be the ones who need to pick it up and decide their career stream. Pursuing a certain field of study should be a personal decision and one should live with it forever, with no regrets. Educational Institutes have no right on deciding what a student should pursue and whether he shall be successful in it.

Every student has a different potential and this potential may increase or decrease depending on a variety of factors. If a student is weak in "English" language, but has the genuine passion to be a translator, with enough practice and hardwork, he could excellent at it. Navjot Singh Siddu, a famous Indian Cricketer was often mocked due to his terrible English, and so one day he decided to prove the audience wrong. He practiced sincerely for many years and now he is one of the greatest English speakers in India.

Success is actually a relative term. For some students, success would be to have a big bank account, for some it might be the job satisfaction, and for others it might be service for the society. At the end what matters is that the person is happy. Educational Institutes might not be able to judge the individual student's happiness criteria, and hence their personal success.

If a student is taking a unique path, not taken by anyone before, does not mean that he will fail. Most of the successful businessmen have taken such untravelled roads and built their empires from unique ideas. With maturity and realisation, a person might do wonders.

In conclusion, educational systems have no right to persuade students to unfollow a certain career path. Potential can be developed with maturity and hardwork. Individual perspective of success is different, and hence no external factor should interfere in changing that perspective.