To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Using a subset of a larger population to reflect the characteristics of a society will be ineffective. A representative sample of a part of a population cannot adequately inform you of the key characteristics of that society. The prompt recommends that the most important attributes of a society can be studied by using the major cities of a country. I mostly disagree with the prompt for two reasons.

Firstly, one major characteristic that define a society is the culture of people, A huge discrepancy can be seen in the way of life of those who live in major cities and those who live in rural areas of a society. For example, in major city like Lagos in Nigeria, there are a lot of commercial activities, transportation facilities and a larger population that in a rural village in Osun state, Nigeria. Rural areas are more conservative and the way of life of the people differ. Most of the population in a village are engaged in farming, live in huts, engage in lesser commercial activities and are mostly uneducated. One might say that, villages are beginning to abandon some of their traditional organization and adopting some lifestyle of major cities. However, a huge difference can still be seen in the way of life of those who live in major cities.

Furthermore, the socio-economic status of people and the behaviour of people in major cities differ from the population of people in rural areas. People in the urban cities are more sophisticated, educated and exposed. For instance, in a major city there are more schools, access to electricity, access to mass communication. People who live in major cities engage in social activities such as drinking bars, organize social events, form union and associations. These privileges are not seen in the rural areas. People who live in the villages are involved in lesser social activities. The behaviour of people differ in major cities and the environments are not as serene as that of those who live in rural areas. One will notice a better sense of oneness amongst people who also live in rural areas because of their lesser population.

However, the countryside is beginning to be influenced by the major cities, facilities are improving and they are beginning to resemble major cities. For example, pregnant women are no longer nursed by their neighbour’s wives instead they are taken care by maternity nurses at public health centres in the villages, farmers are beginning to form unions and schools are been created also. Villagers are embracing new habits like recreation, education, entertainment.