Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study

Education always occupies a significant level to a national development. Cultivating talents who contribute own strength to development has became the critical point. Therefore, some people consider that a variety of courses, even outside the student’s major in university, will facilitate students to become great talents. In my opinion, I agree with this assumption.

With the development of the modern world where is filled with a myriad of information from many fields after information explosion happened, the interdisciplinary instead of the insulating disciplinary. It is difficult to discover a subject that have no relation with others and exists independently. Physics need the foundation of the Mathematics, Information Management also involving the Information Technology and the Management. Moreover, some famous scientists are proficient in several subjects. For a instance, Da Vinci, is famous as the Mona Lisa, the true master in the art field, but he also is a scientist. Because the comprehension on Anatomy, which facilitates him to understand human’s physical structure better, and causes his paints fascinating with colors of legend.

Meanwhile, in today’s technologically advanced society it is impossible for those who focus their attention on the concerning fields to satisfy the needs for the future society.

By multidisciplinary studies it can approve the comprehension to one’s major, and extend logical thought with a multidimensional style. For some students who past the college entrance examination without orientation about the major, taking a variety of courses will be a good choice for them to consider which is their favorite subject. This exploration ensure their impetus and interest in major.

However, it is problematic that just clinging extra subjects for university students. These subjects just help to understand their major as a ancillary subjects, if paying more attention on them and ignoring major lessons will become a joke in education because whenever the major is the most important and essential. And every student lies in a different level—different capacity with different subjects. Therefore, it is not idealistic for everyone studies in the similar level, which is another tough problem in education. Actually, some majors are not suitable for taking more lessons due to the pressure from the major, overwhelmed pressure will easily cause mental illness, not good for healthy development.

Consequently, the university requires every student to take a variety of courses is good for them to understand their major and extend horizons, but this method should be different from everyone according to their level and the extent of course burden, lest cause the mental illness.