arguement

According to the recommendation of Waymarsh, traffic problems will be solved by adopting the strategy of sharing rides in Garville, Although it is convincing at the first glance, it needs more evidence to justify the validity and effectiveness of the policy before the city adopts it.

Even though the commute has been prolonged from 20 minutes to 40 minutes in three years according to the recent survey, but it cannot prove the traffic problems exist indeed. If Waymarsh enlarged the urban area in these years, it is normal that more time will be wasted on the road than before, which cannot represent the city has severe traffic problems. If the city distribution cannot be changed, the responsibility of respondents in this survey also should be substantiated, for example, if 10 persons in one company participated in this survey after their company moved, it is undoubted that their commute are prolonged, but most of the citizens’ commute is similar to before. the survey cannot be claimed valid. Therefore, the author needs to corroborate the availability of the survey and confirm the change of the city.

Furthermore, the policy in Garville dissolved the traffic problem by sharing rides. However, it does not represent the similar success will happen in Waymarsh. Firstly, the Waymarsh’s people may not like this strategy, if most of people are accustomed to taking private car or only share rides with their friends even giving them many coupons for free gas, absolutely, it will not be valid in Waymarsh even it has been succeed in Garville. Secondly, if the they do not refuse the policy, will it surely alleviate the pressure in traffic? It probably will not. we do not clearly recognize the density of population. For instance, Waymarsh city has more people than Garville, and the amount of vehicle may increase instead of alleviating it. Consequently, the author should take more credible survey of the citizens’ altitude about the policy and explicit the data of Waymarsh’s population.

Although the pollution levels in Garville have dropped since the policy was implemented, the author does not provide enough evidence to strengthen Waymarsh has the same result afterwards. The Garville possibly is a tourist city in which the pollution comes from the waste gas mainly, however, the Waymarsh is famous for the industrialization, therefore, It is impossible that the pollution will be reduced as Garville. Even if both of the cities are in the same circumstance, the words of peoplein Garville are representative? They are just from a small group, which must not represent the attitude of the general population in Garville. In a nutshell, the author must present a survey to make discrepancies both of the counterparts and find out the representativeness of the words before bringing the same practice into Waymarsh.

Although the argument and the conclusion might be true ,some specific proofs should be released to better evaluate the argument.In that case, the argument will be more reasonable and convincing.