The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large

customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all

subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced

its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in

the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a

significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books

are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books

can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

On the ground of the recommendation of the business manager of Monarch Books, Opening own in-store coffee in the space currently where used to sell children’s books, which will increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean. Although the author has provided some information and surveys to substantiate the conclusion, it still contains some flaws and questions that need some evidence to solve them and guarantee the recommendation’s authority.

Firstly, the author claims that the declination of the national census data of population under age ten might cause the same decline in Collegeville. However,there is no relationship between of them, for example, even if the national data is declining currently, but the significant increase of the children under age ten has happened in Collegeville, even it occupied a large market, therefore, if the Monarch Books conceals the space of children’s book and construct a in-store coffee instead, which the bookstore will lose many customers and have no profit, even go bankrupt. In a nutshell, the author should make sufficient marketing survey about the population under age ten in Collegeville to sustain the conclusion hold water.

Secondly, the author mentioned that the Monarch books have opened twenty years and developed a large customer due to the reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects, if the manager arbitrarily supersedes the space of the children’s book, it might destroy the reader-friendly demonstration because probably most of people are likely to immerse themselves in the oceans of the books, and the feature of the wide selection of books is the biggest advantage in the fierce competition, just simply canceling the children book without considering the attitude of customers to the decision, which must be a bad impact to the bookstore.

Finally, even if these possible assumptions are excluded that I mentioned, another question that endanger the conclusion’s reliability still exists. The author assumes that the decision is for making more profits and ward off competition from Book and Beans, but the decisions might be unnecessary because the Book and Beans has a different economic and financial mode of the in-store coffee as the major profit rather than the books selling , which is different from the Monarch Books. Therefore the bookstore actually don’t need to consider this decision to deal with a opponent who just exists in own imagination.

Consequently, this conclusion still contains a lot of questions and alternative assumption, which undermine the its accuracy and reliability, the author should corroborate these assumptions before the decision are executed.