The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low

prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although

the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their

prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we

needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we

recommend that Bargain Brand now expand it

On the ground of the recommendation from the directors of Bargain Brand Cereals, expanding its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products will continue make a profit. However, the conclusion is valid at first glimpse, it has several questions and flaws after scrutinizing, which the author should provide more information and details to substantiate the assumption.

Firstly, the author confidently claims that they drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Do they really appeal many customers from these companies due to the low price? Probably no, in all likelihood, the top-selling companies are suffering the impact of the product’s quality, which cause some customers abandon the production and choose the Bargain Brand breakfast cereal instead. The company is actually not appeal customers, if the top-selling company rebuild the qualify and the confidence of the customer, the Bargain Brand will lost them possibly,which can not call the company’s success.Therefore, the directors should make more surveys and studies about the top-selling companies to sustain the reliability and accuracy of the conclusion.

Secondly, even if the author provide with the decisions of other companies that attain more customers and increase their competition in the market as the reason of the company’s success, it still contains some questions which need to be answered. These decisions, such as decreasing prices, might have no relationship with Bargain Brand. For example, these companies belong to another advanced markets, and the Bargain Brand Cereals lies in the low markets, their decisions and strategies will not impact each other. Thus, it can not regard as a reason of justifying the success of Bargain Brand Cereals.

Moreover, the author assumes that the new low-price food products and expand its business will make a profit. But not every product is suitable for low-price, especially the product that will cost a lot, such as chocolate, meet, if these products are in a low price, the customer is likely to consider the quality of these products and suspect ingredients with many additives, which is unhealthy to body and cause the lost of customers. In a nutshell, the company will not make any profit, even go bankrupt.

Consequently, the directors of the Bargain Brand Cereals should solve these questions and guarantee the conclusion’s authority before the new low-price product are marketed.