“Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

There is a strong tendency among the recent influential leaders in our society to ascribe the rapid development of today’s technology to unification of different field of academics, destructing the barriers between. This trend, which universities cannot easily ignore considering their student’s future pathways in society, suppresses them to demand all of their students to take courses outside their own major. Some people argue that such compulsion is feckless or even wrong-headed, begetting whole new list of side effects, but I think this seemingly coercive policy is in fact necessary in many ways.

First of all, for those who are unsure about their major choice, this policy can be definitely helpful. Many decisions students make during the university application process, such as major choices, cannot be regarded as totally judicious considering their lack of experience due to relatively young age. Moreover, some high school teachers even tell their students to choose their major based on the possibility of matriculation to the high-rank university, not on their own field of interest or field they excel in. These students might need a chance to assess their choice of major, and for doing so, attending classes that are prepared by other academic departments can be very helpful. They can either corroborate, or disprove their major choice via this experience. If this policy was not mandatory, it is likely to spawn a bunch of students heading for the wrong destination, a finish line they did not truly want.

Some might contend, that this policy can be viewed as a waste of time for students who are definitely sure about their major choice, thus should not be mandatory to all students. In case for prodigy who shows brilliance at their own field, they might argue, taking other classes outside their field of major might stymie their academic progress. However, this contention negates the fact that those brilliant students will eventually face an adversity requiring knowledge outside their area of affinity. It is pretty common to see a brilliant student majoring in engineering facing difficulties when publishing a paper of his own ingenious ideas because of the lack of writing skills or english proficiency. If this student had a chance to take an English writing course, the student’s future might have changed a lot.

To think twice about the necessity to mandate this policy even for students who are right before big exams or qualifications, like someone preparing their final paper to get a Ph.D. degree, might actually be considered as a shrewd pondering. They might need some time to solely concentrate on their paper, without being distracted by some extraneous matters. However, experts say that focusing on one subject round-the-clock can reduce its ability to think creatively. Giving a respiration time for the brain to think about something else, making it perceive novel inspirations, can actually be very helpful to enhance their ingenuity. This policy might even help the those students to prepare for their goal efficiently.

Moreover, taking classes outside their field of study can help students to have a comprehensive understanding how this society, or in a bigger sense, how this world works. Regardless of the specific fields of academics, there are at least one thing that can be applicable to our real life in a positive way. “Game Theory” in Economics can be the case. Although it seems like a theory that is only applicable to complicated economic problems with numbers, it is a theory with a translucent logic that assesses everyday life choices that happens between two or more people. Understanding this theory, or even just acknowledging the existence of this theory might change one’s every-day decision process. This kind of example can be found easily from all academic fields, and those can help the students live with a wider and deepened view of the world.

Policies related to education should be enacted after deliberation. This policy we’re dealing with, mandating all students to take courses outside their own field, can be considered quite coercive and impetuous at a glance, but after some deep reasoning, it can be concluded as an effective policy to enhance their student’s ability, a result after mature contemplation.