Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The speaker contends that woven baskets that are primarily known to be made exclusively by the Paleans might have been also made by other people, using the evidence that they have found the same baskets in other village, Lithos, segregated with Palean villages by a deep and broad Brim river that surely necessitates a boat to be crossed over, which wasn’t found in Palean villages. It’s quite a simple logical flow, having a lot of flaws in it.

First of all, the information about the Brim River - broad and deep - is an information deduced from current geological situation, not from the period when Paleans were alive. The speaker should think about the geological status back then. The river might have been shallow and narrow enough to walk across for the Paleans, orelse, even extremely, their might have been no river at all. There’s a chance that Palean and Lithos, being an contingent village connected via walking road. Some kind of dramatic (or gradual) geological event that happened during the long historical period between then and now, might have changed the map connecting the two villages.

To corroborate this argument, there should be no vestiges of geological transformation around that area, or a clear evidence that confirms there wasn’t any huge geological events. Sedimentary layers, at least, that can be seen from cliffs around that area, should have no marks of disturbance.

Even if we concede that the river was broad and deep back then, we still cannot surely determine whether the Paleans used boats to cross over the river or not, only with the fact that archaeologists couldn’t find out the remaining evidence of it. There could have been unexpected and unknown historical events that might have burned all the boat without a single trace. The fact that there is no single species of ‘black-colored pigeon’ detected by scientists does not verify the statement “All pigeons are white”. There is still a slight chance that the scientists just couldn’t find them, hiding clandestinely in a cave somewhere around the world. We simply don’t know.

Furthermore, even with the admittance of the conclusion that no boats were used by Paleans, we still cannot jump to the conclusion that the Paleans and Lithos people did not interact with each other. Maybe the river wasn’t the only path connecting the two villages. There might have been some other ways to circumvent the river, connecting the two villages. The two village people might have interacted using that alternative root, letting those Palean baskets be found also in Lithos village. To strengthen the speaker’s argument, a clear evidence that proves the uniqueness of the path connecting the two village is necessary.

To sum up, the argument has a lot of logical defects. Most of the flaws were based on logical dichotomy. No boats found in the Palean area doesn’t mean that they used no boats at all. Existence of river between the two villages doesn’t imply that there are no other roots at all. There are still a lot of possibilities that opens a bunch of uncertainty about the conclusion. Evidences that could clear this uncertainty might help to distinguish the truth of this argument.