Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Studying in a field of interest and to excel in it is every student's aim. Along with the interested field getting an opportunity to select from eclectic courses can help a lot in the all around development of an individual. So, I completely agree with the given statemnet that universities make students to select variety of different courses. This can contribute in shaping the future of a student in numerable ways.

Firstly, a good variety of courses helps in precluding the studies to become banal and thus stimulates and revitalises students. This helps in the overall development of the student and provides a great opportunity to learn new and different areas also. This further can help a student to survive in future in an effecient way. For example, the recession of 2007 in US saw unemployent of many people. In this case people who were master in just one field could not have survived but if a person has knowledge about other areas also he could atleast earn a sustainable living for himself and his family. Hence, studying various courses can act like a boon in such circumstances.

Moreover, having the ability to select from wide range of courses can help the students to select a field which they were not very much aware of earlier but once thy start learning about that course, it seems interesting and may be they can excel in that field later in thier life. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, one of the best Indian batsman and renowned wicketkeeper was a football player as a child. As he started playing cricket the interest and his diligent efforts in the game made him such a great player. If he was not introduced to the game he might not have known his talent. Similarly, providing variety of courses helps students to visualize what they are really capable of doing.

Although, as it is said more of anything can be harmful. In the same way, a huge variety of courses can be confusing and daunting as well. The students can get distracted as to which way they should go. Also, sometimes it can become an onerous task to deal with these many courses at a time but that does not make the fact deniable that variety of courses is more of a boon than a bane.

In the end, I think there should be a balance of the courses students have to take in the college life. The variety should be enough to make them feel knowledgeable rather than discouraged and burdened and troubled. That will be the best way to make a student reach the heights of success.