Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's world, knowledge plays an important role in a person's development. It is a very good practice to have knowledge about variety of fields rather than focusing on a single field. So, a very good point is mentioned by the author because, if a student is allowed to learn about a variety of courses outside the student's field of study, then it will help him to enrich his knowledge in many different fields and help him build his decision making capabilities in various fields. But, before making this a compulsion to all the students, it is very important to analyze the after effects of such a strategy.

Making students to take variety of courses outside his field of study, will definitely help them to diversify their knowledge. But, every student might not be interested in doing so. It may be due to their pesonal interests which may include more liking for a particular subject or any other personal choices. Such students should not be forced to take variety of courses. Doing so will not only hamper their progress in the field which they are interested in, but also reduce their academic scores, if they are not able to perform well in other courses. For example, if a student who has interest in biology, is forced to study mathematics, then he might not be able to solve the problems in mathematics, with ease. Eventually, he will end up studying more about mathematics rather than biology. This might not help him to enrich his knowledge in biology, in which he wants to study more and pursue a career.

Also, it is well said, 'Jack of all trades but master of none'. It is very true, because if we try to focus on more than one topics, they we may never be able to master in one prticular topic. It is always better to have complete knowledge of one subject rather than having half knowledge in variety of subjects. If students are not forced to take variety of courses then, they will be able to focus on the subject which they are interested in, and can master in that particular field.

Universities are the potters of students career; they can make or break them. Forcing a student to take variety of subjects might not help the student. He may not be able to perform equally well in other fields, as he can in his fields of interest. This will affect that student's academic records and might discourage him. If any student is interested in taking variety of subjects then, he can surely go ahead but, no one should be forced. Students spend limited amount of time in universities, which amounts to couple of years. In this time duration, they try to gain as much knowledge as possible, which will help them to become professionals in their fields of interests. If they are forced to study variety of subjects then, they might not be able to focus on the subjects in which they want to pursue their career.

so ,conclusively we can say that, the author has mentioned a good point of making a student to take a variety of courses outside the field of study. But, universities should not make this a complusion on students, this might burden them. Rather, any student who is willing to take variety of courses, should be allowed to do so. This will give each student liberty to select their courses and will help them to progress.