Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Students opt for higher education in colleges because of their interest in that field and their likeliness towards development of career in that field. The author has mentioned a very good point that while planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students. This will surely help the students to encourage the faculties to underscore the subjects that they are more interested in. However, before actually implementing this strategy, it is important to analyze all its effects.

If educators take advise from students while planning the curriculum, students will be more than happy, because this will encourage the motive for which they take admissions in college. They will be motivated to learn the subject more avidly, because, they will be interested in what they are studying. They will pay more attention in classes and will complete the assignments more keenly. Eventually, this will increase their overall academic performance.

However, we should not ignore the fact that a lot of students take admission in one college or university. If all of these students are involved while planning courses, then, will the educator be able to devise a curriculum which satisfies the needs of all students? Obviously not. For example, while devising computer science curriculum, some students will say to include mathematical subjects like algorithms and some might say to focus on theortical subjects like software engineering. There will be conflicts among the students and it will become difficult for the educator to plan a proper curriculum. Also, if he selects a course, then other students who were not in favor of that course will construe that the educator was biased in his decision. This will create a havoc and will not create a healthy atmosphere in college.

Apart from that, students are always hungry for marks because they want to improve their academic records which will help them in landing in good job opportunities. So, to support this cause, they will undoubtedly try to put more emphasis on the subjects which are easy to learn and and which allow easy scoring and they will ignore the complicated subjects. If students are graduating so easily and with all simple subjects, then the reputation of that college or university might be declined.

So, according to me, it is advantageous that students are involved in the planning procedure while designing a curriculum. But, there should be some limitation to the extent to which they can be involved. Too much involvement will ruin the curriculum as it is well said that 'too many cooks spoil the food', so, if we do not wish to spoil the quality of education provided, too much involvement should be avoided.