Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

As we say, “Knowledge is the power”. One must have ample knowledge about various fields to sustain in such a competitive environment. Speaker has focused on the issue that universities should start encouraging student to study various subjects outside his major subjects. I would certainly stand by the statement claimed here.

Most of the people believe that one should always stay focused on the goal he has decided, but acquiring pragmatic knowledge about various fields will definitely help the person to grow up as complete personality. Some people are afraid that if they start studying different field, they will lose focus on his majors and he will end up with mess. Partially they can be right, but its individual’s duty to implement time management to make himself better individuality. Moreover, universities can direct and guide the students which course he must take. With the proper guidance and selection of proper subject, student can succeed in his major as well as other courses.

There are lots of courses out there to study, for example the student of engineer must take physics as his other course. It might give him some perspective ideas to understand the law of universe. He might take the courses which includes some basic information about the medicines, which might help him in his day to day health problem. Similarly, the student of Medical science can study the subjects like Mathematics or History just for the sake of knowledge. One need not to study the other course profoundly, but it is always helpful in life to know about the primary stuff. Consider a student pursuing engineering doesn’t have basic idea of physics’ rule like gravity, attraction. He would be like the master of his own word. We call it frog of the well. We should be like frog of the sea, who has way too much to conquer.

Additionally, when it comes to corporate world, non-major subjects are the useful in terms of determining the position when it comes to the same-merit case. The person with the best skills in non-majors will win the job. So apparently, studying other courses can never make you lose anything. It just adds more spice to your resume and helps you develop the broad view to look at your future.

Anything in excess harms, people say that. Similarly emphasizing too much about the courses can cause you harm too. You may get distracted from your prime goal and many simultaneous thoughts can brainstorm you. And again, it must be responsibility of the university and the authority to guide you in a proper direction. There must be developed some criteria which students must follow to attain maximum advantage of the course with the minimum efforts made. Moreover students must be given some flexibility about his non-major subjects. He must possess some interest and must understand that the subject will be fruitful in his very life. Otherwise, the subject will be boring and it will do nothing but add burden for the students.

Presenting all my views, I would agree with the speaker’s claim that university must make students to choose at least one subject outside his major field. It would help him think with more prospectively and would transform him to a better personality. After all, this is the meaning of being truly educated.