Universities should require students to take courses only within those fields they are interested in studying.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

Career selection is the mot important decision in an individual life and this indirectly depends on the course of study one opts during his college life. Now-a-days there is deluge of courses as each field has been professionalized in every aspect whether that be Engineering-M.S.,M.Tech. etc, Medical field- specialization in dentistry, cardiology, ortho etc, Humanities- being a teacher educator, social activist, art related activities etc, Commerce- actuarial sciences, financial analysts, managerial corporate etc; in such a situation a person is always in a fix to decide which path to go for. Thus, this has emerged as one of the most faced issue or problem by each and every student.

"Everything seems interesting, when you are interested"- as said, indeed, own liking, preference, forte, determines the strength and excellence level in which an individual is going to perform in his future. Students, who are going to initiate their career according to their own will must ensure that they opt course of their own choice. As said "a person engaged in a profession in which he/she is not comfortable with acts like a square peg in round holes". Thus to enhance the prospectus of future progress and to curb the chances of any further depression and stagnation in coming years of career, university must provide vast range of courses and it should be the wholly discretion of an individual to opt his subjects. In this regard, I want to quote one of incidence of my life; one my friend during our masters in mathematics program failed badly in her final exams and when she changed her field to masters in fashion designing she excelled so well during her course work. I feel this somehow clears the notion that if one works according to the taste of other, he can cross the track but can never lead the race of career challenges. Thus, to ensure one's growth and success, the student must be provided with ample opportunity to choose the subject towards which he/she is more allured to.

Contrary to this, this ideology might take a detrimental shape sometimes as students are naive and unaware about the demands of the society and thus are more enticed towards on-going trend in spite of choosing novel course. As many M.B.A.'s turned jobless after the recession few years back, and even now people are reluctant in going for this course of study; though the market trend has been modified and there is upsurge demand of new managerial consultants. Thus, the professionals like guidance counselors, placement personnel,career advisers etc appointed by the universities apply the apt aptitude, intelligent, attitude tests like Thurstone and Likert scales and then guide them to choose the course in accordance with their own potential and innate capacity. They adopt a simple method by deciding SPERT goals that are specific, purposeful, efficient, resource generating and time based so that on entering the real job scenario the student won't face any problem regarding employment and thus act as a potent member of our social framework. In a way, no one can ever beat the intellect and insight that universities choose while disbursing the courses to the students.

Undoubtedly, the appropriate course selection is of crucial importance in an individual's life as it can make or mar one's career and life. Thus a amalgamation of both is necessary inspite of taking any hasty decision. Seminars or career conferences be arranged by universities to guide the students about the professional market scenario and then they be given chance to select their desirable path according to their own will. A close functioning of both the factors will indeed yield the relevant and best solution to this problem.