universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position,

be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's fast globalizing world there is a trend of studying in a foreign country, for instance, students taking exams like TOFEL and IELTS to pursue their graduate education in foreign countries. This flux of students immigrating from one country to another country creates diversity in education as well as employment in various professions thereby adding value to that particular country. One can easily say the same regarding students required to spend at least one semester in a foreign country would have the same effect. However, such a claim is very short-sighted and has failed to take into consideration various aspects of foreign education.

Requiring one to study in a foreign country means there should be some sort of student's exchange program established in all the universities. Such a program requires a lot of back working and most of the universities especially in third world countries do not have resources to support the same. For example, during my undergraduate two of batchmates wanted to study in our sister college located in a different state. However due to lack of an exchange programme and the difference in the curriculum they were not allowed to do so. One more difficulty in requiring students to study abroad would be of language. For example, a native German person studying in the German language if has to go abroad would require to learn another language. Investing time to learn another language for just six months of study in a different country would prove counterproductive, his time would be better invested he has decided that he is going to going to continue staying in his home country.

Spending a semester abroad has costs associated with it. Requiring students to bear those expenses without their will seems inappropriate. Another question we need to ask is studying in a foreign country is going to contribute the individual growth in the way he wants. To give an example, Humanities students and students studying a foreign language would profit from travelling to a foreign country of their study. These students would be exposed to numerous things which would benefit them to get a better grasp of their course. However, students studying local architecture and building construction techniques would not be benefited from such foreign travels.

As stated in the first paragraph studying abroad has its strong points. However, it is necessary to take into consideration the various aspects associated with such a requirement. In my opening, universities should promote spending one semester in a foreign country as opposed to requiring it.