The way people look, dress, and act reveals their attitude and interest. You can tell much about society’s ideas and values by observing the appearance and behavior of its people

I do concede that in some of the cases, external appearance and dress up of people could reflect general ideas about the attitudes and interests of the people; however in some of the cases, it may not. Observation of external appearance and behavior of people could reflect general ideas of the society; however, it is not always the case that external appearance and behavior of people could precisely portray the real ideas and values of the society. Therefore, I personally believe that the author made an unfair generalization that the appearance and behavior of people clearly depict the ideas and value of a society.

It is true that behavior and appearance of people are some of the tools to study the attitude and interests of the people. However, it cannot be a reliable indicator to portray their real ideas and interests. For instance, in Islamic society, women are not allowed to step outside without covering their entire body parts and so Islamic female often veil their head and entire body while stepping out of their home. However, these usual activities do not mean that these females actually want to hide their body while stepping outside their home. At the same time, there are numbers of Islamic females who are famous celebrities, actresses, dancers, and singers. Apparently the behavior of these female celebrities portrays that Islamic societies are liberal to females; however, these societies are not. Therefore, it would certainly be a mistake to assume the real ideas and values of a society by observing the appearance and behavior of some of its people.

It is true that in some of the cases the behavior and activities of the people could depict general ideas of

and values of the society. For instance, a society in which people perform regular exercise, take healthy organic diets, avoids cigarettes, tobaccos and oily foods reflects that the society is health conscious and gives high value on human health. Similarly, as society in which majority of the people are well-educated, respectful, polite, co-operative, obliging, kind and generous reflects that the society is civilized and gives high emphasis on human dignity. However, on the other hand, in some of the cases, the activities and behavior of people could conceal their real interest, social ideas and values. For instance, apparently a society in which people works very hard each day could reflect that the society gives high value to work, while in reality, their regular hard work could be the result of their dire financial necessity and they could offer more leisure time if they can afford it. Thus, it is not always the case that general activities and behavior of people could clearly depict the real ideas and values of a society.

In sum, it is true that in some of the cases, the activities and behavior of people could reflect the real interest and attitudes of the people. It is also true that in some of the cases, the behavior of people could reflect general ideas and values of the people. However, in other cases the apparent activities and the behavior of the people could conceal the real idea and value of the society. Thus, the study should be made case by case study.