As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and mysterious.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The more you know, the less you understand. This typical proverb, which may have been told to everyone during his/her childhood, relates to the fact presented in the statement. As technology and science evolve, more complex problems appear. Sometimes, these new questions to answer reveal that the assumptions in which the last developments were based were wrong. However, although acknowledging the nuances of this discussion, I do not agree with the argument, as I believe that knowledge always leads to a better comprehension of our environment.

First of all, supporting my point of view, our comprehension of the world and the universe has steeply increased during the history of the human being, thanks to the research of many scientists. The quintessence of an investigator that has led to a better comprehension of our universe is, indubitably, Isaac Newton. His development of the gravity theory in the 16th century led to the beginning of Newtonian physics. This paradigm was the base for classical physics flourishing. It has led to a more profound knowledge about universe, as it is the base of Kepler orbital mechanics theory, Maxwell electromagnetism laws, Navier-Stokes fluid dynamics equation, and many other examples that have helped us to establish a physical model of our environment. This model is the base for all progress in terms of technology, and, hence, has led to a better comprehension of the world.

In contrast, although developments in physics have led to a better comprehension of our world, they have also created new problems, more complex than the ones studied before, which solution is still a mystery. To exemplify this, Albert Einstein revolutionized classical physics, establishing that their hypotheses and axioms were not veritable. This led to the establishment of a new paradigm, namely relativistic physics. This change was the cause for the need of development of new theories, in accordance with the recently settled principles. Later, Boltzmann established quantum physics as another paradigm to describe physical phenomena that govern atomic behaviour. This may be the perfect example of a case in which a broader knowledge has led to more mysterious problems, as only the tip of the iceberg has been discovered. These two examples contradict my point of view. However, I think that the problem does not lie in knowledge acquisition, but in that more research is needed to unravel the mysteries.

In conclusion, as the human race acquires more knowledge, a deeper understanding of the phenomena of a science is obtained. While a broader awareness of the laws that describe our environment lead to new, more complex problems, this does not mean that the comprehension is worse. The more you know about a subject, the more you can ask questions that do not have an answer currently. Hence, to develop an adequate comprehension of our universe we should do more research.