Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Nowadays, it is undeniable that our world is utterly interdisciplinary. In order to solve problems in your daily work, you sometimes need to have knowledge about subjects that you did not study, but are needed to succeed in life. Nevertheless, it should also be mentioned that there are many jobs in which the only education needed is related to the field of knowledge involved. I agree with the statement to some extent, but not completely, as I think that tangent courses should be taught, but not extremely different ones.

First of all, it should be mentioned that, as a typical proverb says, knowledge does not take up any space. The offer of courses different from the field of study of degrees should not be contemplated as a threat, but as an opportunity to start studying a subject. Does anyone know any person who only likes to study contents related to their field of knowledge, and that does not have any interest further from them? Personally, I do not, and I would not be afraid to assure that no one does. Thus, universities could offer courses related to other sciences, in order to increase their students’ satisfaction with their education.

Secondly, there are many psychological studies that have proved that knowledge in different areas from the one of specialization enlightens the creativity of people. Penicillin, for example, would not have been developed if it was not for engineering projects related to medicine. Biotechnology is a field of knowledge that would not exist if it was not for people who knew about biology and engineering, and developed projects that related to both of them. These examples prove that the combination of disciplines can lead to the improvement of solutions obtained. Hence, a multidisciplinary education, as defended in the claim, may be beneficial in many cases.

Furthermore, in my opinion, universities’ function is not only to prepare their students to develop an established function in their job, but also to promote critical thinking and a healthy lifestyle, and to guarantee a minimum general knowledge amongst their students. This is the main reason why many universities, such as Universidad de Leon, in Spain, rewards it students’ participation in activities different from their studies, such as sports or the debating league. The advantages of these activities in the future life of students are huge. Hence, their function for social improvements should not be undermined.

On the other hand, time is not infinite. The time that students spend in other subjects different from their specialization implies that, when they start looking for a job, they may be less prepared than if their studies were completely related to their field. In the United States, there are some non-compulsory subjects that are completely different from the degree studied, such as Arts or Music. It is clear that this kind of subjects are not related directly to the job needs of students, but, as I said, they are elective, so their existence does not harm anyone.

However, discussing about if this kind of courses should be compulsory, I completely disagree with this view. The main reason for my disagreement is that I think that people select their studies according to their likes, and, thus, they may not want to study anything different from that. As I mentioned in the previous paragraph, I defend the presence of elective courses unrelated to the main field of knowledge of the career, but not their obligatoriness.