The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

First of all, the main assumption involved in this letter is that all the moped that are offered by rental companies every day are rented by people. For example, if there was an offer of 50 vehicles per day, but the demand only required 25, imposing a limit on the number of rentals would not solve the problem. For this reason, the first measure to be taken is to develop a study of demand of moped rental, in order to determine if the proposed measure would be useful. If the demand is high enough, this recommendation would be valid in terms of the argument presented in this paragraph.

Secondly, the number of mopeds circulating might not be the problem, but inadequate traffic rules or inappropriate road design. Any of these two facts would lead to accidents, and would affect to the island during summer and during the rest of the year. To determine if this factor is important in the number of accidents, a comparison of the number of accidents in autumn, spring and winter between this island and Seaville would be determining. If the study determines that the number of accidents is similar, it would mean that moped use may be the main cause for this.

Thirdly, it should also be mentioned that, if people are not able to rent a moped, they will have to search for an alternate conveyance. Unless they decide to use public transport, the use of an alternative vehicle would not solve the problem, as it would be as possible to provoke an accident as before. In order to determine what alternative mean of transport would be used by people if a limit in moped rental was imposed, a survey for tourists would be extremely useful. If the results showed that they would use public transport, this measure would be useful.

Finally, it should also be mentioned that it is not necessary for the number of accidents to be directly related to the number of mopeds in the streets. A halving of the number of mopeds could not lead to a halving of the number of accidents, but to decreasing a determined percent, less or more than 50 percent. To answer this question, a statistical study limiting the number of rentals in different ways (for example, to 40 mopeds for two days, then to 30 mopeds for other two days) should be done in order to find a correlation between both variables. This would help to establish the number of mopeds that should be rented in order to minimize economic losses for rental companies and reduce to a minimum the number of accidents related to those vehicles.

In conclusion, these four questions should be addressed in order to establish if the number of mopeds circulating are the reason for the huge number of accidents. When answered, appropriate measures should be studied and taken.