The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

The sole purpose of the government is the welfare of the people, which mean people have the right to involve in the political decisions which affect their lives. As Abraham Lincoln stated, A country should be;" a country of people, by people, and for people". So it is important for the well-being of a society that its people question authority, either directly or indirectly.

Power has the tendency to corrupt people. To assure that the government is efficiently taking the right decisions to serve the people, the people should continuously question the authority. The concentration of power leads to the monarchy and corruption. For example, when the German chose Hitler to lead their country, the power was concentrated in his hand, which lead him to crush anyone who would question him, the absolute power lead him to take actions and to form policies against the welfare of the masses. And there are many third world countries who suffer from tyrannical governments which people are unable to question.

In contrary, too much questioning of the authority may hinder their efficiency and deter the development of the society. While society which promotes democracy attain a better quality of life, many people lack the sufficient awareness of the political aspects to be able to question the authority. While it is essential for the society to keep on track with the policies and actions which are asserted by the government, people should understand how these decisions may affect their lives to be able to question these actions. Thus, governments should escalate people awareness and increase their involvement in the political life.

Moreover, the questioning of the authority may be used by opponents and other parties for destructive purposes. Unreliable and reasonable questioning may arouse many scandals to tarnish the reputation of the people who are in government positions. This will be an impede in the development process.

In conclusion, while it is crucial that people question the authority to avoid the corruption, this questioning should not impede the efficiency of the government work by being bias and destructive.