Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

The above statement recommends that society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities. I do not agree that the efforts of society to protect the endangered species should be conditioned.

Plants and animals are disappearing at an alarming rate. It is a fact, more than five hundred species disappeared in less than two hundred years. This should be a call for all mankind to make an effort to save the endangered species since it is critical to the stabilization of the ecosystem. Animals and planets are vital parts of the natural system which we depend on, it is unreliable to assume if any species beneficial and critical to our existence or not since our scientific knowledge is not comprehensive, and there are many species are obscure but critical to the web of life.

Hence, it is our responsibility and our promise to the future generations to maintain the ecological balance on the planet we live on. Humans are the dominant and more advanced creature who has the most vigorous impact by using natural resources far beyond their naturally-sustainable levels. Also, the urban expansion, pollution, industrial waste, excessive use of fossil fuels, and much more, adversely affect the whole ecosystem and induce many environmental problems to the environment. So, since humankind has been active in the deterioration of the ecosystem, society should take an action to cure these effects as much as they can.

Moreover, they have the power and the tools, as technology and science, to protect the ecosystem and save the endangered species, either if they are under the risk of extinction as a result of human intervention or by natural causes. Endangered species often face extinction as a result of pervasive diseases, which may wipe out a large extent of animals or planets. The human intervention should deter the effect of these diseases by the use of scientific technology and research.

On the other hand, there are many natural factors which exacerbate the problem which we can not control, such as, hurricanes, floods, natural fires and other natural disasters. Moreover, there is a universal law state that the survival of the fittest, which assure that societies efforts to save the endangered species cannot keep up with the power of nature. Also, there are species that their extinction place no harm to the ecosystem balance, such as Dinosaurs and Mammoths, this may doubt our efforts to save some endangered species which their extinction may be harmless, especially if these efforts are costly.

In conclusion, societies should bolster any efforts to protect the endangered species. Particularly, if the danger of their extinction is a result of human intervention.