Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall stu

The author built his argument upon the implication of Omega University's graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have the graduates from nearby Alpha University. While it might be true that dramatic rise of students' grades made the potential employers think that grades at Omega are inflated, the author does not make a cogent case by assuming that implementing the evaluating system of the professors by the students caused this increase.

First, the author did not provide proofs to support his claim. While the evaluating system's new procedure might persuade professors to assign higher grades in their classes, there is no concrete connection between the two instances. For example, the escalate of students' achievement in classes may be caused by improving the quality of education services in the university, or students may have improved their achievements in the class by working harder. Also, the evaluation may take place before the grade, so professors will not make use of assigning higher grades for students who already evaluated them earlier. To strengthen his argument, the writer should state more evidence of the connection between increasing student's grades and implementing new evaluating procedure.

Also, the author assumed that potential employers' will not consider Omega university's graduates since their gades do not really represent their achievements. This assumption is no reliable since the employers take into consideration many aspects when selecting a new employee. So there are many factors affects the graduate ability to get a job according to his qualifications, and the employer can decide whether graduate's grades reflect his achievement in the interview.

Thus, the fact that Omega graduates are less successful in getting jobs than Alpha University graduates is not a valid proof of author's assumption of the effect of the rise of grade on the employment of the university's graduates. However, the comparison between the two graduates is rife with holes since the author did not show a ground base for this comparison, he did not provide further information about Alpha University. For instance, the graduates of Alpha university may have better qualifications, or the university may have a better ranking than Omega University. So, the comparison is not logical and proper, unless the author has more information to prove his point.

In conclusion, while securing any education system from corruption is crucial to the quality of its graduate, the author's bold assumption did not significantly provide reliable pieces of evidence to prove this case.