12 Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition

Governments offering a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition may look plausible idea. But it is impractical for the governments to provide the funding for every university student who is not capable of paying the tuition.

It is true that illiteracy and poverty go hand in hand. If the government was able to eradicate illiteracy, poverty would be eradicated concurrently. In other words, helping poor people to gain the proper education promote their ability to build their own career and be financially independent. Many programs in the US established to help poor and unemployed individuals to gain education to reduce their dependency on the government. Also, providing proper education for poor people will be beneficial for the society and boost the economy as well. Though, government funding for other aspects of the economy should be given a priority. Governmental funding for free university education will produce numerous numbers of graduates. Meanwhile, the government should promote the economy to create a fitting jobs market for these graduates. Moreover, government funding for university education should give the priority for the majors which are more demanded in the jobs market.

Another aspect should be given into consideration, that free university education will lessen the value of the education. Many students would misuse the funding provided for educations, and they might tend to not taking it seriously. As a result, an excessive waste of the government resource may occur. Also, this will increase the quantity of the university graduate but may affect the quality of the education itself. Since more students will apply for university admission, some universities may increase their admission rates to increase their profits. That is to say, governments funding should be provided to improve the quality of university education as well. In addition, governments funding should be given the priority to exceptional students, whom the financial impede shouldn't hinder their academic excellence, which would benefit their society, even more, the whole country from their achievements.

As a result, while free university education for students who can't afford it has many benefits for individuals and communities, it should not have a priority over the other aspects of the development. Also, there are many points which should be taken into consideration when the government funds university education.