A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches.

While the author argument may seem persuasive, it is not clear how the investigation was carried out through the twenty years on the residents of Mentia city, which cannot make a cogent case unless it can provide reliable answers for some questions.

First, to validate the correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported, we need to ask if there are no other factors which may affect the people's health in twenty years. Many factors may affect people's tendency to have a headache. For example, people in the city may have adopted a healthier lifestyle through these years, or it might be more peaceful in the city. The author should prove a concrete connection between the two incidents, the correlation does not necessarily reflect causation.

Second, the author built his bold assumption on the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates, which exists on the food. At the same time, he did not state what is the amount of the salicylates in the food which make it efficiently reduce a headache. So, he should state how much salicylates exist in the food which the residents of Mentia consumed? Is the portion of salicylates effective to reduce a headache occurrence? Moreover, How much did the decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants?. All these questions can determine if the author can attain proper and logical statement. For instance, maybe the residents did not consume effective portions of salicylates to consider its effects on them, or maybe the study participant did not consume salicylates at all.

Finally, the author did not mention the data collection strategy of the number of headaches reported. Also, he stated that there are study participants, was there a survey or interviews? and was the sample representative of the residents?. The data should be reliable and representative to be used effectively. The study participants may be not enough to build a conclusion on their case, or the survey might guide them to answer in a specific way. Unfortunately, the author did not submit enough information about the research method to prove their validity.

It might be true that there is a possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates, but the author hardly provides enough information to support his argument.