It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

The statement argues that it is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them, while it seems persuasive, but it is evasive and not truly a cogent statement. Undoubted, it depends on the belief which would be comprised. Moreover, the cause which engendered this compromise.

Compromising own values and beliefs will lessen one's self-confidence and tarnish his reputation. Even more, it becomes an insidious cycle; the more we compromise our values, the more we continue to do so. For example, an employee who compromises his values and involves in corruption, he might involve in other illicit activities for the sake of better position or the money. Also, a student who might yield to his classmate and involve in cheating for the first time, this might persuade him to cheat more often instead of spending his time on studying for the exams. Thus, it is important for the person to be adamant about his values and principles, to maintain his self-esteem.

In contrast, true person, who is in pursuit of the truth, should be critical to his own beliefs, and open-minded to all other views. Only by experience, people tend to change their beliefs when they expose to others beliefs which are different from what they advocate. For instance, many of the beliefs, which a person attained in his childhood by his parent and his society, may change when he experiences different ideas and thought which make more sense to him. The human superiority came from their ability to choose their own faiths and beliefs. Truth cannot be reached without critical thinking and persistent search. So, it is more harmful to adhere our beliefs blindly, than compromising our beliefs when they are proved to be wrong.

Thus, while many beliefs and values are worth adhering to, many should be questioned and analyzed to prove their validity. So, a person should adopt critical thinking and comprehensive analysis of his beliefs and values because they affect his way of life. And more importantly, it is for the health of the society to be open-minded and accept different beliefs and values. For example, if the society is more conservative and not yielding to different beliefs, people will not accept others, As a result, discrimination or antagonism will be dominant. Societies should provoke people to accept different beliefs and opinions, to escalate the civilization and deter the vandalism.

In conclusion, while it is healthy for the person to be restricted to his values and beliefs, compromising these beliefs as consequences of deep thinking and reasonable causes is healthier.