In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Art should be free of any strains to be innovative, so we cannot judge the merit of the art by being understandable to most people. In my opinion, art loses its value when it becomes straightforward and transparent.

Serious art should not be easily interpreted, not even have a valid interpretation. Moreover, while you can say a lot about an art piece, many should remain unsayable. Real art attracts people by touching their souls and reviving their thoughts, even if they cannot comprehend the real intentions of the artist. For example, the Monaliza painting still infinitely enigmatic, while there are many interpretations trying to enrich our understanding of Leonardo's piece of art, no defined answer found to be valid enough. This what is making all the fuss about the Monaliza, and attracting thousands of people to come from all the world to stand in front of it, and make their own perceptions of her smile.

Thus, persuading artists to promote accessible virtues to their ideas might cause them to produce a lot of guff, which would be repetitive and monotonous. Artists mostly have complex and contradictional ideas and feelings, what make them novel is their ability to express their ideas in artistic ways, either through novels, films, poems. Asking artists to be more understandable to most of the people will lessen impede their creativity and deter their inspiration. For instance, if an artist can give a stated explanation of his work, people will consider him naive and worthless, we can see many direct portraits around which do not spark our attention, but esoteric arts will keep us wondering and perplexed. As results, many artworks failed because they were predictable.

On the other hand, too complicated artworks which could be esoteric would be uninteresting for people. Artists should not build barriers between them and people, this would make art lose its vital role in reflecting society's cultural, traditions, and values, furthermore, preserving these aspects and forwarding them through the history. So, it is important for art to be reasonable to people.

In conclusion, while art should not be exclusive and prestigious, it will lose its value when it is straightforward and predictable. People are more interested in artistic works which entice their curiosity and stimulate their thoughts, so it is not fair for art to expect it to be commonplace.