To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Cities are the centers of the major political, cultural and economic events in the society, so we can grasp a common understanding of the society by previewing the major cities, but we can't always understand the most characteristics of the society by studying the major cities.

for many countries around the world, the majority of the population reside in rural areas. take China and India for instance, more than seventy percent of their population live in rural areas, so you can't study the society's norms, culture and ways of life by studying only the major cities.

Due to rapid globalization, most of the major cities are almost the same; with people traveling far for better jobs and a better life, any major city will consist of people from different origins. Dubai, for example, is a hub of people from different parts of the world, which make the city almost like any other western city, and much different from middle eastern society.

culture and traditions are more preserved in villages and small towns as well; the fast pace, the long works hours and the busy life of the city make it harder to preserve traditions and norms. in other words, if we want to study the culture and the traditions of the society we should study the life of people in small towns and villages, where people have more traditional and conservative ways of life.

In conclusion, society characteristics can't be exclusively examined in one place, it is illogical to make a general assumption that we can understand the whole society just by studying the major cities ignoring the villages and small town.