A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

Education systems vary from country to another. While many countries require a common national curriculum, others have different approaches. Although having a common curriculum is beneficial at some primary level of education, it is banal to require all students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Many argue that a common curriculum helps students to have a standard level of education at the end of each education level. Furthermore, it ensures a stable and universal learning pattern in different parts of the country. This reduces the student confusion if he needs to transfer from school to another, since families may move from place to place for different reasons. This argument is true to some extent, the national curriculum should be a baseline for more innovative approaches. Students at elementary and secondary levels should develop a basic knowledge in different subjects to have a solid background and to broaden their horizons. For instance, every student has to comprehend the basics of mathematics and review the history of his country.

In the other hand, the common curriculum should not neglect the uniqueness of each student. Every student has different ways of thinking, interests, strengths, and weaknesses, which should be taken into consideration while designing his learning process. For example, an outstanding student will find the average common curriculum mundane. This will limit his intellectual thinking and impede his creativity, as a result, he will lose his interest in learning. Also, a slow student will find the same curriculum arduous. Which will frustrate him, eventually, he will also lose his interest in learning. That is to say, a common fixed curriculum will hinder student's curiosity and impede their learning progress.

Teachers should be motivated to develop their own teaching styles and methodologies. For instance, Finland, ranked number one by National Education Ranking, is in the lead by its creative education system. Teachers are encouraged to develop their teaching styles to suit their student's needs and abilities, and they will do whatever it takes to create a success story out of each student.

Moreover, it is more efficient for high school students to spend their time taking further classes in subjects they are interested in than wasting their time trying to comprehend subjects which are irrelevant to their interests. For example, an exceptional student in mathematics, who is interested in pursuing his education in an engineering field, will find it meaningless to study biology and history, while he can widen his knowledge in relevant subjects and boosts his creativity in that path.

In conclusion, while it is essential for all the students to have a basic knowledge in different subjects, creativity and curiosity can't be promoted with a rigid education system.