A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Though the ultimate goal to provide mental nourishment for the youth is consensus, educational system varies greatly around the globe. Therefore, on-size-fit-all ideology might not work for all nations. The statement has brought up two key hypotheses: (1) A conformed national curriculum should be enforced to all institutes across the country; (2) The designated structure should be remained the same until the students enter college. From an array of evident, I support the approach of having a consistent curriculum for fundamental knowledge constructed on both social and science repertoires. Also, it should be implemented up until the point when more clarity on career interest is drawn from the students, in most cases, pre-college deems substantial.

There is an array of benefits brought by having a consistent teaching content and approaches. From the perspective of education suppliers, schools and teachers would find it much easier to deliver lessons and facilitate grading system. If there exist multiple curriculums, it potently imposed challenges whenever lecturers transfer from one institute to the other. The same goes for students, due to the diversity in teaching material, exchanging or transferring would not make possible. As a beneficiary of such system, I could be confident to delegate the advantages of a uniform scheme, which has been practices in Vietnam until 2010. The curriculum included 13 core syllabus comprising both science subjects (Math, Physics, Chemistry, Biology, etc.) and social subjects (Literature, Geography, History, Moral study, etc.). Despite the pressure to survive all of those, it did lay a strong foundation for most students preparing their step to college. Whereby most recent graduates from the alternative elective methodology suffer as they don’t possess enough knowledge pool and cognitive asset to enroll in major of their interest.

As mentioned above, this system could raise concerns on overloading students with information unnecessarily. Thus, adopting an all-in-on curriculum might not be ideal considering the level of education could be vastly differed between cities and rural provinces. Where educational funding is limited, either are teaching staffs being distracted by higher-paid job or students are unable to afford education being the breadwinners to their family. Thus, keeping up with 13 subjects would be least of their concerns. This scenario could be most evidently relevant to developing countries where governmental and social resources are scarce and unevenly distributed. In this case, the real issue would not be which system to take but rather addressing the question of how to alleviate education stability, so more youth could get involved in scholarly activities.

Another highlight of having a singular model until students are ready for college is that it deprives the stress of having to make a grave decision in life way before they are ready. Especially in an Asian context, where most young adults are relatively reliant on their parents to draft their paths, accustoming them into a universal education system would potentially decrease rate of impulsive or precarious judgement on their career plan. On the other hand, one might argue that major countries like the U.S, Australia and Europe have seized many successes with the elective integration beginning from their junior high. The paradigm underpinning this scheme is the result of various political and social factors ranging from highly state-oriented education structure, strong government funding, belief in liberty and motivation for specialization. As the ultimate goal is to inspire students to excel in area of their interests instead of persuading them to secure a job in a seemingly prospective industry as most institutions in developing countries do.

In conclusion, I think a single uniform curriculum is effective to ensure the process of transmitting and adopting knowledge are consistent while removing friction wherever transferal or exchanging occurs. On a higher level, students would have sufficient time to integrate and interact with various subjects until they figure out the most suitable package.