In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement brought up an overarching question: ‘Is previous experience the only key to success?’. The answer is debatable and arduous to resolve. In the world with rising respect paid to liberty to human rights, we are entitled to switch from one field to another as long as we have the guts and perseverance to pursue our dreams. Even though gaining expertise in a particular field would be equivalent to more prestigious credential, it would not necessarily dictate our rate of success. The rationale behind could be inferred from 2 key hypothesis. Firstly, I believe we are all born with some kind of talent, which we might or might not be fortune enough to embrace it in our life. Once we do, we could do great things. Secondly, there is no lack of evident on innovators gaining huge success based on their passion to tackle an issue from a new angle rather than what their previous experience has taught them.

The statement could only hold true in certain areas, where previous experience is a critical foundation to build on future work, for instance, science, medical and history. A chemist would not be capable to provide eligible research deliverables if he/she is lacking the fundamental knowledge on atoms and chemical reaction. On the contrary, the scenario could be completely adverse in the genre of technology, in which new system is constantly being introduced and former endeavor would slowly become obsolete. For instance, an app programmer is not necessary required to master a SAP system but instead SQL coding would be much more critical to develop more favorable product. Also, the ever-changing environment has made it challenging for any experts to survive with a single strain of proficiency. Rather, now is an era of cross-fertilization of multiple disciplines.

As most of the education suggests, you are encouraged to pursue a career that could help you achieve financial freedom or something that you are highly to be successful in. How about our innate talent or interest? Seldom, we are advised to follow an abstract career path without any figures to back us up, whether be employment rate or potential salary range. Because of the inappropriate placement in our work choice, talent might be ingrained but less likely to be emerged. Let’s take a look at couple real life examples! There is no lack of conspicuous evident demonstrating that passion is the key to success, prevailing over experience. ABC, the founder of genetic theory, who was only a monk with a desire to scientify his enthusiasm about gardening. Mark Mac who invented Facebook in his early 20s without tons of experience underpinning his glory. Their contribution to the scientific and social spectrum is essential disregards their previous professional foundation.

The decision to forgo what you have built for the pass 20 years would be devastating. However, we shouldn’t lose our drive to concur something more meaningful to us so that we could retain our life of comfort. In any industry, what we are thriving to do every day is to overcome obstacles to sustain a functional system. While experience is gained, we could grow lethargic or reliant on the classic method, which hinders our ability to tackle issues from various respects. A lot of groundbreaking innovation, especially those ideas proposed for crowdfunding, is the product of integrating different discipline ranging from mechanic, design, engineer, architecture, etc. One of the recent applause bestowed on a new Malaysian chemist, who has invented a new theory to eliminate bacteria without the use of antibiotic by applying the key principles in physic. However, in order to actuate an idea to a meriting impact, one should possess concrete knowledge in both fields of interest.

In sum, framing future work based on our previous effort in a single field would be an orthodox approach, which is not going to lead us far. Thus, it is mandatory for us to gain experience from one field while inducing ideas and knowledge from others simultaneously.