Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With the advent of technology, we have been surrounded by scandals more than ever, shifting the platform from face-to-face interaction to an unbounded virtual space. The power of online scandals is not to be underestimated because they are not only a reflection of how people perceive current society and how they decide to react to it. However, it remains arduous to suggest if scandals are brought in with more advantages or disadvantages. Dependent on the source that scandals are originated from, we could somehow speculate if it would make us focus on the real problems or just another piece of work to satisfy curiosity. To me, there are 70% of scandals are merely serving as entertainment intruding privacy while only 30% of those ingeniously addresses real issue happening in the society. Furthermore, the danger here is that there is no efficient approach for us to even validate if the scandals were true or not.

There are no lack of media channels circulating abundant supply of scandals whether unfold on our phone, on the radio, or on television. However, how much perceived information is reliable for us to trust? The one that suffered most of scandals are affluent people, e.g. singers, actress, or politician, whose news are captivating to spur up the attention, which is an ultimate goal for all media platforms. For this matter, if you hear about Jennifer Lopez’s new fashion fiasco or Justin Bieber’s new debut album, asides from those are fandom to these individuals, this piece of information carried absolutely no nourishment to the general public. Thus, these genre of scandals, to me, doesn’t bring any constructive attribution neither to our knowledge database nor to our cognitive development. To a greater extent, behavior of exposing data intruding personal privacy without consent from the targets is considered unethical, or more severely, unconstitutional.

Moving scandals to a professional environment, does it contribute to solving real societal issue? Sadly, the answer remains negative. There are increasing number of politicians and social activists leveraging scandals as a prevailing weapon against their opponents. Again, this form of rumors being transmitted and instilled in our brains, with no intention to do us good, could entail dangers and instability in our society. A palpable evident could be seen in China and North Korea, with governments helming at what to be broadcasted and what to be restrained from their citizens, has led to either ignorance or twisted perception on the real-world. One might argue that the problem might be omitted in countries where freedom to speak and virtual liberty are granted. Sadly, it is not entirely accurate as well. The reason being is that when contradictory information is flowed in from multiple channels, it imposes challenge to the filtering and validating process resulting in what called ‘information overload’. Therefore, as to facilitate the deciphering process, we would seek for an easy way out by being reliant solely on one channel. As a matter of fact, majority of us are counting on information pertained from facebook, Instagram, Twitter instead of reading the news on authorized journals. Conclusively, scandals must be accompanied by foundation of validation from accredited authority for them to be trustworthy. Or else, our attention might be diverted ineffectively on irrelevant context.

However, one might argue that some scandals might bring up issue that no one would have never realized or would never dare to disclose. Not long ago, a piece of scandal was posted online asserting that the most influential nation in the world is prying into our mundane lives, with the justification for national security. From the perspective of a victim, I strongly support that, as commoners, we still reserve the rights to be acknowledged and informed of any sort of intervening, even from the government. Despite the fact that this form of scandal is helpful in addressing the trust issue between government and its citizen, it’s still crucial to scrutinize the motives behind such exposure, whether it’s for good wills or attempting to destabilize the society.

In conclusion, information outbreak has imposed challenges on differentiating which form of scandals to be adopted or rejected. I sustain on the ground that scandals which closely affect our current and future lives are worth to be noticed, yet we must stay highly judgmental to examine if they are real sound or just another rumors flinging around the air.