Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The overarching question on whether students should pursue a career of interest or a profession for job securing, persistently, remains imponderable to resolve. The intricate process of making a life commitment to a particularly profession, somehow, is not entirely under our control. Dependent on the social context the students are placed in, we could divide the scenario into two spectrums. Students who are brought up in a developed nations and those who are thriving to survive in developing environment. To me, it is, of course, ideal for students to pursue their desires as it optimizes creativity and commitment, thus, higher attainment could be expected. However, indubitably, not all of us could afford the legacy of liberty to chase after our dreams.

I believe a gifted person could become prominent when he is granted the opportunity to develop the congruent repertoire. Evidently, each of us was born with a specific set of aptitude and characteristic, which make us fit to carry on with particular roles and missions in life. As one of the classic quote asserted ‘greater capability comes with greater responsibilities’. Some of us are born with innate leadership while others shine with creative artisans. There is no lack of preceding examples validating the point that success is reliant on these inborn quality. In the case of Newton, his ingenious traits in science, which were expressed at very young age, has grounded one of the ever-lasting discovery of gravity. Also, the Chinese piano genius ‘Lang Lang’, who has also demonstrated his gifted sense for music by winning first prize for multiple competitions at only the age of 13, became one of the timeless musicians thanks to the support from his family for his dream. All these elite figures have verified the critical role of talent while choosing our field of study.

As we all know, success, which does n’t come over-night, require relentless effort and perseverance to ward off fears and challenges along the path to victory. Interest, which has the potent to evolve into perpetual impetus for our career growth, is critical as initial driving force for us to move ahead. In many successful stories, whether being business or scholar elites, the sparks to go after their desires are remarkable. We could reference to the case of Jack Ma, despite being rejected for countless times, his interest and dedication to the business world keep him away from giving up. Passion and enthusiasm are especially relevant in professional context, where stamina is the most critical, such as research and development. It would not be possible for scholars to persist with their research whenever their hypotheses fail to be validated. In this case, there would not have been cure for cancers, antibiotics discovery for virus outbreaks, or psychological findings for criminology, etc.

However, some people might argue that students should choose a field of study with more accessible career opportunity. I concede that for most developing nations, where financial return and job opportunity remain the top priority while considering choice of education. However, with the increase of foreign investment and open gateways for labor exchanging, students are no more restricted by the job available in their home nations. On the contrary, skillful and passionate workforce is likely to be absorbed by foreign companies if they are deemed fit with potential. Thus, the issue is no longer the local labor demand as the job pool has been expanded globally. In Vietnam, for instance, students, who used to be persuaded to select subjects of high demand, are now prompted to involve in fields of their desire as the fear of graduate not finding a job is diminished with the increase of expatriating.

In conclusion, as I cogently elaborated above, students should preserve the rights to select a career of their will instead of forcing into a particular field just to secure a job. As long as we consistently cultivate from our talent and passion, there is always opportunity available elsewhere.