Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Though ‘To teach is our duty, To be educated is our right’, it’s irrational to expect education always comes free. Especially, academic institutions, akin to any other business, requires funding which could be retrieved from public resource or from the students themselves. Thus, the overarching question here is: ‘When would be the best circumstances for college and university to afford waiving of all tuition fee’. From my perspective, we could examine the issue by using the reference from developing and developed country as the economic development on a nation impose great impact on educational funding.

As challenging as any other fields, education in developing country, indubitably, is constantly being plagued with financial issue due to the meager budget support from the public sector. With its limited national resources, most of these countries would rather focus their resource on investment with higher return such as trading and industrializing. That being said, yearly supply for most schools in low-income nations may only be sufficient to cover daily operation cost. More severely, in countries as Philippines, Miama, and Cambodia, the youth from rural provinces continue to suffer from ill-educated situation from even elementary level. If there does exists any form of extra funding, it should be granted to solve this pressing issue of illiteracy instead of alleviating the financial issue for higher education. The statement would not make sense in this particular frame.

On the contrary, given the well-doing of economy, Government should definitely waive the education fee for college or university candidates as they are at helm for the national progress. Higher educational institutions, being the space where groundbreaking knowledge in science, technology, arts, philosophy are solidified, are essential for human civilization and innovation. With the absence of such academic contribution, probably, we would still believe the world is flat while living in the dark. Waiving the tuition fees for students would definitely spur up the admission rate of undergraduate and graduate students, among who, there might be the next Einstein or Newton. Thus, high-education should definitely be the priority considering the public resource is abundant enough to lavish.

In addition to attracting more prospective candidates, it helps to impede the miss-opportunity for potential talents who are not able to afford higher education on their own. Some might say the scholarship system could serve the same purpose. However, in majority of our education system, academic credential is one of the key scales to determine their eligibility yet genius might not necessary demonstrate great performance in school. We could examine the case of Thomas Edison, who was expelled by the school because of his gruesome merit, has become one of the greatest scientist of all time. If universities spread an open arm to all students, it would sure to capture as many brainiac individuals not only locally but internationally.

In summary, as I cogently elaborated above, the relevance of the statement is highly reliant on the availability of public funding. However, whenever the financial string is loose, higher-education should definitely be made gratuitous for the public.