The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The ultimate goal of most argument is to try to persuade others that our opinion is more superior than others. With those that support the similar ideals or withhold neutral perspective, this mission could be easily achieved. On the contrary, it would be an arduous journey to manifest our viewpoints to opponents, who already ingrained a conflicting thought in mind. Therefore, I somehow agree with the statement that the one of the best ways to testify the quality of an argument is to measure its success in convincing their opponents.

When an argument is postulated, it could be broken down into three main constructs, which consist of the grounding premise, reasoning process and proposed evident. Among all of them, grounding premise is one of the hardest to rail against as it challenges the fundamental philosophy of the opponent. Whenever the premise is conspicuously established, or at least appears so, it acquires less effort to convince the opponent. In this case, as long as the conveyors master the context of discourse and clearly and cohesively convey the message with underpinning examples, the argument is expected to be a success. We could further elaborate this point with an example of health product market. When dealing with health-conscious yet skeptical customers, a sales person could easily convince them to try on the new products by comprehensively explaining the ingredients list, demonstrating potential benefit and showcasing testimonials from previous buyers, thereby leaving the consumers with no room for doubts and criticisms. Because they are fundamentally in trust with the overall ideology, their inner argument is more on the trustworthy and safety of the products. Thus, this debate is effortlessly triumphed as long as we provide enough conviction and reliable data.

On the other hand, when an argument involves either two disparate premises or absence of any premise, it would leave an open-end arena to the debaters. In this case, it is even more evident that, if an argument could become dominant, despite its validity, the world paradigm is likely to shift towards that direction. We used to, for once, believe that the world is flat due to the rigorous pressure imposed by Christianity against scientific proof. However, not until Columbus succeeded in traveling from west Spain to east India without falling off the edge of earth, the entire world was coerced to agree with his argument. From this example, it could be speculated that philosophically there exists no impeccable argument, whoever capable of finding loopholes to convince the majority would be the winner.

Besides penetrating the opponents, one of the primary characteristics of argument is to voice up our opinions, irrespective to whether people would accept it or not. Therefore, I conceded that not all argument is supposed to end with the victory of one or another, in which case, another mean of evaluation would be more appropriate. Before ending a research article, a section of research limitation, which is no different to an argument against your own work, is often included. In any field of study, scholars are often encouraged to question and doubt at previous literature as the intention is not to win over the topics but to discover research gaps for future investigation. This is what keeping the relentless supply of innovation and new discovery.

In summary, as I cogently elaborated above, though high pedestal should be awarded to arguments having the potency to convince their opponent, other measure should also be considered as scale of assessment.