People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

One classic assertion stated: ‘we are the product of the choices we make’. However, the extent to which we are entitled to make decision varies vastly across individuals. Some believes that we are all born equal, however, the preceding facts tell us otherwise. Legally, from the moment we are born till the age of adulthood, we are granted with unique set of roles and responsibility, which confine how we act in the society. Secondly, dependent on where and how we were brought up, our right to speak, to eat and to choose our career bestowed by government, society and family is tremendously different. However, I still support the ideology that we are at helm to make endeavor to reach our destiny.

Being a consensus regulation across the world, under-age child and juvenile are seldom permitted to make many selections in life. This is absolutely normal for kids to have minimal say in what foods to consumes, which school to go and who to be friend with as their cognitive skills have yet to be developed for them to act independently. Thus, adults around them such as their parents, teachers, governors should assist them in making this decision. However, it doesn’t mean that they should be constricted to a set of strict rules like those being practiced in Asian society, where infants are raised under an over-protected environment. Not only does this jeopardize their self-esteem and confidence at such young age but also detriment their ability to properly educate their future offsprings.

Even when we have fully grown and independent enough to act, we are still coerced by the legal force and virtue standard set by our society, more specifically, the country we are born. Comparing different society practices, Democracy nations are seemingly more open-minded with much higher scale for liberty. Their citizens are given rights to speak, rights to vote and rights to pursue any religion as they please, which the scenario is pretty much adverse in more restricted regions. Let’s take Middle East for an example, where male’s social status and prestige prevails over those beheld by women. In the same context, Middle East citizens are not allowed to choose which theology to worship while freedom of speech is abstinent as well. We could infer that our fundamental rights are almost fixed from the moment we are born.

However, I did encounter numerous cases where perseverance and will has overwritten the rules and virtue enforced by our society on us. There is still hope to make a choice to our final destination by consistent endeavor. As being featured in a recent daily, a Philippino lady who was born in an orthodox family, where she has minimal force around what is happening in her life. She was married to a gentleman who she didn’t love yet bound to live together for life. After a car accident, which took away her ability to walk, she became paralyzed and was abused by her husband. With her will to fight against this vicious wheel, she has overcome her fierce to make the first decision in life by running away from her husband and distance herself from the family. Now, she has become one of the most inspirational speaker for woman rights in Philippines. This story is not only an aspiring note of bravery, it also reminds us that, in spite of all grim circumstances, we do have a choice in life!

In sum, I believe that the existence of law is critical for a stable society, however, our behaviors should be framed beyond what the law tells us. Also, in situation where choice seems to be restrained, we must be able to accumulate efforts and strength from our virtue believes.