A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is the foundation of advancement of human societies, however, academic ideologies are varied from country to country. Some promotes educational liberty in order to inspire students towards their true desires while others consider freedom to choose your learning path is rather a distraction. From my point of view, with the intension to yield proficiency and consistency for quality control, a nation should consider having a same national curriculum for all states institutes. Also, it caters all students with equal playing field for healthier national competition. As any other policy, trying to keep a unified system in place could impose some risks on developing countries, where students and educators from less developed region most likely find it tough to keep up with the national standard.

All educational institutes share the same interest to ensure as many students are graduating with high credentials and merits. Thus, quality control has always been a primary concern. For countries with limited resources provided to academic, pursuing a uniformed system could help reduce friction between private and public institution. To better illustrate the scenario, when government authority carries out audit or evaluation on the students’ performance, it would be much simpler to possess the same evaluating scale among different institutes. For instance, most countries conducting a High school National Exam requires all students to follow the same syllabus so that all students share the same playing field with their result be fairly validated.

Due to the high mobility amongst students from different states, a single system secures a smooth transferal for both students and lecturers. If there exist multiple curriculums across schools, it would be less possible for students to adapt to the new teaching approach and material, thus, reduce their chances of success. Same goes for teachers, especially those in low-income countries where shared efforts and resources are required predominantly in fields at high demands such as medical and education. When a teacher is required to teach while learning new methods, low productivity is expected to occur. Thus, government coercion on the educational constructs and content is crucial.

Also, from my point of view, maturity level of students is also a critical element contributing to the success or the failure of this policy. In most Western nations, students are groomed to be independent thinker at very young age, which bestowed them with the cognitive skills to decide what curriculum best suit them. Also, as financial implication is less constricted thanks to government funding and overall economic environment, such freedom is made feasible. Thus, this policy would instead be counterproductive. Respectively, providing the flexibility to have elective courses during high school would better guide them towards the right career paths. On the other hand, in less-developed nations where educational structure is unstable and students are financially and mentally reliant, granting freedom is no difference to introduce complication and confusion.

In summary, the implementation of any policy always has a double-edge. The key to seizure the benefits is to evaluate correctly the current shortcomings of the situation. In other words, if an education system is concrete enough to provide new matrix and freedom, the policy should lean towards promoting flexibility. Otherwise, a standard protocol should be suggested.