Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The survival and revival of any institutes rely heavily on their leading force, who is at the helm to drive a company or a nation uphill or down drain. The concession cycle of a governmental party is akin to the decision required to make by a business entity, thus, we could somehow consider this paradigm to be consensus. However, the complexity of running a country is of much higher pedestal. Based on the scrutiny of preceding evident, I underpin the ideology of having an authority to be in rule for no more than 5 years as it has been demonstrated to thrive growth and positive competition while avoiding societal upheaval due to dictatorship.

Each fields could be considered a congruent parts constituting a functional system driving the national development. From a positive viewpoint, changing power periodically means parties would be motivated to deliver better performance due to the competitive pressure. Similar to structure being accustomed by Democracy and Socialism countries, such as the U.S, Malaysia, France, etc., leaders are nominated every 3 to 5 years based on the election votes from all citizen, which grants fairness and equality to all citizen with legal rights to appoint whoever deem fit to lead their society instead of sticking with one. However, the chaos and conspiracy derived from election during the transitory stage are inevitable as well. It’s not hard to delineate the rivals between different parties, such as those occurred among the BH and DAP parties in Malaysia, where the issue of leadership goes beyond political measure, but also ingrained in cultural and racism respects.

Also, the foundation of ensuring success in an organization or in a country is the constant gear towards innovation, which somehow in demand of cross-fertilization of ideas from the new blood. In professional environment, the biggest obstruct for growth is the disability to adopt to ever-changing environment. The finger could be directly pointing at workforce who has been working in their comfort zone for way too long, most severely, a reluctant leader who is intimated to take the company to the next level. To submerge the latent and orthodox behaviors from senior leadership, take Facebook as an example, its founder Mark Maczeburg was coerced to step down after 8 years of administrating the company so that it could be continue to surge in a hand of more sophisticated power. On a company level, this could also prevent conflict of personal interest or corruption arising when an individual has the ability to direct all resources eternally. Referencing the commandership occurring in North Korea and Middle East countries, we could easily conclude that a sole autocracy could only do harm to our society rather than goodwill.

In conclusion, the claim and reason provided are colliding in various context. However, neither a government nor a company should take the transitional stage lightly as it could directly influence the continuance of former endeavor, integration of new policies, and employee fidelity towards the new leadership.