Some people believe that government funding of the arts is necessary to ensure that the arts can flourish and be available to all people. Others believe that government funding of the arts threatens the integrity of the arts.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The essential function of arts, whether being a story telling piece of the artists themselves or a demonstration of cultural charisma representing a national image, is inevitable in life. However, arts could only be flourished and appreciated in a society where politic is stable, economic is surging, and life of commoners are secured. Despite the critical role of arts in nurturing our soul, government funding, being the most important resource to construct infrastructure and thriving economy, should be dispersed in area where the money is most well-spent underpinning social welfare. The statement has belittled the role of government funding towards a negative tangent by addressing it as a ‘threat’ that tarnishes integrity in the art world, the idea which again I strongly object to.

Assessing preceding evident on the growth of arts, we could easy draw a conclusion that the acceleration of arts doesn’t rely heavily on government funding but rather the economic environment which spark of inspiration is accultured from. In Europe, for instance, the booming of arts was all ignited during the 17th and 18th century where its social stability and economic growth were most erudite. The advent of ingenious artists such as Da Vincci, Picasso, Victor Hugo, etc. has brought either the vivid life of people then into life or groused about their sorrow and criticism towards the authority via their arts works. In another word, artists seek for aspiration to be creative, which could not be induced by financial measure. On the other hand, there are many more imperative aspects required funding from government to support, for instance, public healthcare, infrastructure systems, and educational sponsor. If majority resources are injected into building arts gallery and conserving cultural assets, life of citizen would be meager, especially among developing nations where foods prevails over any form of arts.

Considering the situation where government funding could be lavished on arts, then for sure, it could prompt up creativity and flamboyance in the art world. The assertion on the risk that funding diminishes moral righteous is by far implausible due to the fact that artists, akin to other commoners, are in need for financial support. This could be particularly relevant to artists from societies that esthetic works are of low-demand. In Vietnam, for instance, where arts used to be a great part of life was plummeting with the arrival of wars and political instability. Now, artists are experiencing quite a suffer. Thus, government has worked with local investors (as XQ Art Gallery) to provide adequate working environment, encourage retention of artisan by securing their life to at least bare minimal.

In conclusion, the two viewpoints suggested do not hold true in all context. The priority of arts should not gain such high status in the provision of government funding if there exist other more imperious circumstances. When such resource does make available to the arts world, I believe it could only alleviate the miserable situation of poor artists instead of disgracing their virtue of work.