Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A nation, being a dynamic entity, undergoes changes in every realm, every day. Governance, education, politics, transport, industries, etc. which are bounded by laws and predefined constraints, are subjected to change every now and then. Thus, this requires laws that are associated with each of these parameters be flexible enough to reflect the changes that take place over a period of time, at different locations and in varied situations.

Laws that bind any nation today were mainly formulated at the time of formation of the constitution. Since situations deem to change over time, how do we expect the same laws to hold true today? Trade policies, which held true for a nation half a century ago, will no longer be effective today, given the vast expanse of trade network and newer and worldwide regulating principles. Education policies have changed worldwide, prompting Governments to authorize newer laws of providing free and compulsory education to today’s children. In response to changing climate conditions due to increase in CO2 emissions, there was a worldwide acceptance of the reforms in the much acclaimed Montreal Protocol, emphasizing on lesser use of hydrocarbons. Hence, for a nation to keep up with its competitors and progress steadily, its laws should be flexible enough.

Moreover, a nation represents people of myriad culture and taste, residing in varied geographic locations and climate, and pursuing various occupations. Any law, that sets to bind a certain group of people, may not be as effective for others, given the complex nature of the nation and its people. Old and obsolete laws face a huge decry from the masses, leading the Government to introduce changes and make laws more flexible. Marijuana, which faced worldwide ban, has recently been legalized in many countries; same gender marriages, which was a taboo, has been permitted in many countries like France, quotas have been introduced for different caste systems in public and private sectors and stringent laws and reforms have been passed for women security and safety. To employ more women in the workforce, laws regarding women taxes have been redefined and modified. For a Government to enjoy the majority of its supporters and a nation to advance, it should inevitably reform laws which mirror the current circumstances of the masses, taking into account the changes in place and time.

The very basic ideology on which laws bind the nation, its people and the Government is that judiciary is classically independent from the administration. It is thus fundamentally incorrect for a Government to mould and shape laws according to its whims and fancies. This will not only create a chaos when Government changes after few years, but also will allow people to question the very essence of the constitution and independence courts. Moreover, introducing amendments in predefined laws is a tedious procedure, calling in for votes by houses, presenting possibilities for the Government to face stiff refusal from public, as had been observed during introduction of VAT services or currency exchange limits across countries.

Thus, it is of utmost importance that laws be malleable to suit the changing times and needs of people; it however should still be associated with certain constraints and be done only after assessing its importance and the far reaching effects, taking into account the future possibilities of change.