Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Due to the complexity of educational apparatus, educators are put under pressure to plan a curriculum that best address all the knowledge and skills required while accommodating the interests from the students. From my perspective, interests should be part of the consideration as it acts as catalyst motivating students in their learning. However, educators might need to be cautious in adopting suggestions from students as they are not always reliable and accountable in various respects.

Educator should consider the interests of students as they act as relentless impetus propelling students forwards with their academic and professional performance. Admittedly, in classroom setting, one of the mission embraced by educators should be the potent to capture the attention of the students. In order to achieve this goal, many teachers have adopted various creative teaching methods by incorporating students interests and desire into the scheme. For instance, students are more responsive towards media and digital means, thus, audio-visual medians are considered effectual in improving the overall teaching quality.

However, implementing the proposed strategy might impose challenges to fulfill the diverse interests and propositions from the students. There is immeasurable amount of variables to be taken into account when planning courses for students. Primarily, the syllabus should be deemed appropriate to cater to the need of the majority. Since not all students share the same interest or learning capability, it is likely to take up a lot of time and effort to try to plan the course in accordance to all requests proposed by students. Likewise, it is also unfair to adopt some while abandon others. Thus, ‘majority rules’is considered the most ideal approach in this case.

‘Educators’of different stages in the academic cycle should consider this policy diligently as the situations vary from time to time. Given that the students in primary and secondary education are much less mature, the duty of teachers in such institutes should take more control on how the curriculum should be shaped instead of following suggestions from students. On the contrary, college students should be bestowed some latitudes to propose suggestion that could potentially alleviate their learning environment and teaching quality.

In conclusion, interests should be taken into account while planning curriculum, yet educators should also be aware on the boundary of adoption. Likewise, educators have to be even more meticulous about filtering advices given by students.