Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We are all thriving towards freedom, whether from being financial burden or spiritual constraints. However, not everyone of us understands the value of education in helping us achieve that goal. I always believe that one could only be success if he/she learns from preceding failure and formal education is the condensation of that pool. In other words, as a reflection of knowledge convergence, academic environment has been built and transformed into a testing ground for us to nurture and discover our true desire. Second of all, formal education has distilled what is considered critical repertoire in the industry so that we have a constructive framework to put our effort against. Thus, formal education is too essential to be omit as a space to be creative and productive.

Though the situation might vary from country to county, during years of formal education, students are usually encouraged to dream and explore various fields in a protected shield provided by the school. It caters the nourishment and freedom for student to grow before they could be mature to fight against any grim circumstances in the real world. Let’s imagine a society with the absence of formal education! Youths would either be pushed to participate in the work force or are forced to pick up skills along the way. This was what happened in the history of human evolution and is still the emerging issue for some underdeveloped nations.

Furthermore, a country’s success relies heavily on the quality of our future leader, whose success is commonly derived from an efficient education framework. Educational institutions act as a third party agents, who actively involve with up-to-date trends and demands from the industry. It helps maintain a balance of a quality workforce supply. Without these external perspectives, students are not likely to be aware or comprehend the standard measurement of skill level to prepare them for a prospective career. We could further examine this point with one example of the Vietnam education. With the growth of tourism industry, it brought along also the rise of hospitality and tourism institution, where students were trained in a professional manner to better serve rise to the occasion.

However, one may argue that a dogmatic education could harm our creativity instead of promoting it. I concede that in certain academic paradigm, where students are restricted into a parochial curriculum and teaching method, it could be harmful. Nevertheless, these scenarios are relatively rare, potentially found in Asian context, where the education framework withhold a different set of value and to serve different goals. In most Asian countries, students are educated with the aim to land on a financially viable job or to simply be employable. Thus, students generally pursue courses according to industry demand instead of fields of interest. It is the reflection of the negative impact of the economy evolution, however, it is not the issue we try to discuss here.

In summary, formal education does not only provide fundamental structure for eligible training but also liberal space for students to nurture their dream and professional desire. Thus, it is an indispensable part of our society.