Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Positioning of government leaders has direct relationship on the growth of a nation and societies. However, dependent on the political ideology and system, the interaction between politicians and citizens could be drastically varied, which imposed a lot of complication for people at the helm. There is no lack of present societal upheaval caused by dictatorship while systems with considerable liberty are also denounced with many loop holes. Thus, the ultimate mission of politician is to yield the balance between absorbing social will and constitutional consistency.

A leader without his supporters is no difference than a car without its fuel. However, ‘compromising’ might bring a negative connotation to the tendency to listen and adopt relevant proposal or suggestion. With the advent of technology and elevation of social community, there have been more than a single ‘face to face’ platform to hear what the society’s got to say. Thus, if a politician has desire to maintain his high pedestal, being parochial and persistent on personal stand-point is no longer a wise choice. However, it’s not congruent to being precarious and imprudent in transforming trivial comments into actionable constitution which would be likely jeopardize the country’s future.

Sometimes, an outrageous speech could be revolutionary if we are capable of seizing its optimal benefits. When freedom of speech is bestowed to the commoners, policy makers gain a platform to harness constructive thought from the society. One of a conspicuous lesson we could retrieve from the U.S, a monarchy of economy, art and science, is that Americans are thrived to change and brave to voice-up whenever a policy doesn’t deem fit their demand. This solidarity and resilience are the drive for their unstoppable growth.

Nonetheless, an eligible leader should be able to filter and cluster an ‘opinion’ into ‘advantageous suggestion’, ‘insignificant comment’ and ‘detrimental rumor’. With ‘social welfare’ as the center of consideration, national planning commonly involves long-term vision and planning, which required persistent dedication to actuate the return of investment. Let’s imagine the repercussion of retrieving foreign investment plan purely based on public doubts and opposition! The monetary and opportunity cost is immeasurable. Therefore, prior to enactment, the consequence should be carefully scrutinized.

Lastly, politicians should sometimes be orthodox with his viewpoint and ideology as to reduce social conviction and instability. Referencing the ancient Qing Dynasty (China), one of the reasons that the entire empire was dismantled is mainly due to the instability of its leadership. By heavily reliant on his supporters, the king was drifting away from his authority and superiority and eventually led to the collapse of the dynasty. Also, the fleeting policies across different regions contribute to its cost of death as well. As a leader is deemed to be the best candidate to run the country, he should possess some predominant principles to avoid confusion and suspicion on leadership.

In summary, politician should neither be too easy to be persuaded nor too stubborn to take in advice. The key of success is to be able to validate and justify each opinion with his own set of beliefs as long as the execution is favorable to the general public.