Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Regardless of the industry involved, research and development have always been the central force for product innovation and advancement. Had it not for the contribution of scientific findings, we would not be able have an immense knowledge database in the field of both social science and pure science. However, it doesn’t necessary oblige us to grant the impeccable power for scientist to carry on research on whatever topics they want. On the other hand, due to the utmost significance of scientific research to our society, government should get involved to ensure the research methodology and findings are properly propagated and free from any violation of human rights or manipulation by big corporation.

The term ‘research’ indicates a relative vast spectrum of studies while numerous of sampling methods could be adopted, in which animal or human subjects could be employed as well. If this process is not scrutinized by any authority, we would not be able to ensure the subjects are treated humanely during the experiment. During the 70s, Russian scientists have egregiously utilized monkey on Nha Trang Island, in Viet Nam for testifying the effect of vaccines. With the absence of concern from the local governance, the incident has led to the drastic reduction of monkey population, which breaks the balance of the local bio-system.

As most of the scientific research is funded by public resources, the government should reserve some control over the direction of the area of focus in order to collide with the countries overall strategy. It seems completely logical that research should serve the long term benefits of the tax payers rather than the mere interest of the researchers. Government, being the representative of the citizen, is bestowed the power to overlook this sector of development. We could examine this point by one example of the SARS virus outbreak during the 90s, the search for vaccines and remedy against the virus has made priority among all scientist by the Hong Kong government. With the absence of these leading effort from the public sector, the disease would have been unconceivably sprawling.

Some might argue that scientists should remain their rights to conduct any research based on their wills as enforcement from government is likely to jeopardize the liberty of innovation. In most circumstances, this is the standpoint of big corporations whose support towards scientific research is derived from unscrupulous intention to promote their products. One of the biggest lobbying of scientific research is no doubt happening in the food world. As we are all aware of the potential risk of over-consumption of sugar and fat, yet there has been abundant research alleviating the pedestal of sugar by proving it to be essential towards our brain and neuron functions. It has created multiple polarizing tangent of scientific underpinning findings, which require the government to revalidate on its reliability.

In summary, as I cogently elaborated above, there is no lack of preceding evident suggesting the imperative role of government in regulating scientific activities in order to cater trustworthy facts for the general public.