Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As an old cliché goes, ‘To educate is one’s duty and to be educated is one’s right’, the role of education in grooming the future leaders is critical to all social context. In most scenarios, educators are the ones closely in contact with students and possess full comprehension on their capabilities and interests. Thus, they should be bestowed with the right to guide and encourage students to undertake a field with promising career outputs. This approach seizes benefits manifold. Primarily, it avoids the fault investment of resources and energy from the student’s end, especially those with financial constraints. Furthermore, as human resource providers, academic institutes have pretty accurate scale to evaluate skills required by the industry, thus, their suggestion is generally relevant and up-to-date. Lastly, the strategy could create a virtuous cycle of quality supply of students to better build the economy and social welfare.

One of the most critical function of any institution is to provide students with an appropriate study plan, which eventually leads to a successful career path. In any level of education, students are required to dedicate time, energy and money for a rewarding job opportunity. However, not all of us have prominent cognitive skills to distribute our limited resources in hand. Thus, we expect schools to cater hints on how our resources could be better distributed. For instance, if a student doesn’t have the capability to pursue a science major despite his strong interest, the intervention of the institute become tremendously essential to prevent more energy being wasted. Instead, a multi-disciplinary approach might be more suitable to reduce the burden of pure science subjects.

The industry is commonly reliant on educational institution for the supply of potential graduates while academics obtain funding from the industry to ensure students are groomed according to the standard required. This mutual working relationship grants most schools the right to point students to the right direction. The evident could be easily observed in the field of Information Technology. With the flourishing demands over the past couple decades, more schools have motivated students to enroll in this prospective industry as the financial return would be much higher. This scenario is especially relevant for developing countries, where securing a profitable job is definitely the primary focus for most educational institution. With the assistance from the school, students could be more confident on their professional choices, at least from a financial consideration. However, one might argue that luring students towards the field of money instead of field of interest would likely jeopardize the desire to thrive for more potential future. To me, it all depends on the maturity level of the students. If a student is an independent-thinker, he would take in the encouragement as an advice and justify accordingly. On the other hands, with the absence of such reasoning skills, students could definitely need some help from the school.

The development of educational institutions and graduates are mutually correlated in a perpetually cycle. When an institute is able to produce industry leaders and influencers, its reputation would be elevated and stronger alumni could be built. Reversely, students could also leverage the fame of their al maters in their network building and professional development. Some individual might oppose to place the ‘want of connection’ as priority as it goes against the holistic virtue of education. However, as any other business, education system requires a sustainable fiscal structure for it to sustain. The only way for educational institutes to continue ground-breaking research and providing ultimate learning environment is to rely on the achievement of graduates, who eventually return and help their juniors.

In summary, as most of us are do not possess bottomless resource to lavish, we should spend it wisely. Thus, academic institutes should develop a strategy to diligently monitor and vigorously encourage students to thrive for fields of guaranteed success.