Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Mother nature has bestowed human with a diverse ecosystem where abundant species have contributed to the vivid growth of all organism. However, with the booming of population, it comes with overexploitation on rustic woods, pollution to aero zones and oceanographic contamination. Not only does the goodwill to preserve wildlife and remaining ecoregion help reviving wildlife but also contribute to a balanced ecosystem for human race. Let’s examine the issue from 3 main spectrums of life including biological, economic and social respects.

Currently, there are more than 180 biodiversity hotspots worldwide that hosts hundreds of thousands endemic species either to the region or the global collection. The conspicuous rationale to secure the continuous breeding of these organisms is inferred from its irreplaceable function to the environment. Let’s take a look in a real-life example. In the mountain of Southwest China, the exploitation from over-hunting threatened the lives of thousands of endangered species and agriculture have hindered the growth of woods. The decrease in natural landmass and wildlife population, accompanied with the reduce of microbes required to breakdown waste, results in water contamination, weather change, and exhaustion of natural resources. It is extremely palpable to enforce jurisdiction to retrieve and restore this balance purely from a biological point of view.

Considering the issue from an economic measure, human has been beneficiary from the natural supply of precious material as wood, metal and medical herbs. Securing a sustainable eco-zone means better and ever-lasting ingredient sources. In China, Timber, considered to be one of the most favorable and high-value wood material for construction, is now facing a deficiency in supply. Woe to the drive of shrinking woods land for economically viable projects such as building entertainment park and luxurious resorts, which at the end, harms the economy. Besides, prestigious species such as Ling Zhi fungus from woods, Gingseng from hillside and Nostoc Flagellum (Hair-vegetable) in arid soil, which locals used to rely on to generate income, are all now be in their ‘bottleneck’ of surviving the damage.

Social contribution of natural environment is not to be belittled as well. As metropolitan treats cinema and shopping mall as a retreat after a long day of work, interacting with nature, whether being fishing or foraging, might be the only entertainment for folks staying uphill or along the coast. Jeopardizing the ethereal peace is no different than depriving locals of their sole alacrity. Besides being the main source to nourish our body and soul, bio-rich fauna is sometimes a saving straw to fight against sickness. Despite of Western and Eastern culture, herbaceous remedy has played a big part to the medical field, which makes saving fauna in risk a priority worldwide. Especially, where modern medication is not available, locals reply heavily on plants and herbs as cure to diseases.

However, one may argue that implementing such policy would also incur some opportunity cost to investors, locals and national economy. Due to the ever-increasing tourism demand on feeling the nature, government sometime would be prone toward a more profitable model. As modern facilities being implanted on these ecoregions, it would bring job opportunity, foreign investment and business prospects to the area, which would otherwise never occur. Contrary to public believe, conservation endeavor could also engage an immense volume of labor and investment. It’s akin to switch from building energy-consumed monsters to more resource-efficient guests house and huts to accommodate the demand to explore wildlife.

Thus, there is no absolute equation to assure which strategy might bring more benefit. However, looking from a long term vision, preserving the remaining natural landmass is not an option if we would want to secure the present of fresh air, clean water and healthy food source years to come.