Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

It is a most common perception that the extinction of species is associated with the human activities. Species whose natural habitat is disturbed and consequently decreasing in number are categorised under the endangered species. Efforts should be done in order to save these species in order to maintain the food chain and balance in nature. What if the tigers, which are endangered species, become extinct like dinosaurs then who will be responsible for the control of population of animals like deer, Meer cats etc. Hence it is necessary to save the endangered species.

In most of the cases the human activities are responsible for the potential extinction of these species. But yet there are several other factors beside the human activities which lead to extinction. For e.g. cloud bursting may lead to soil erosion over a large area on surface of earth which may snatch the natural habitat of the animals living there. So at this stage society must act responsibly to save these species yet cloud burst is an act of god and human involvement is nil. This can be done by providing shelter to such animals and making designing proper drainage system so that such events can be dealt more efficiently in future. Due to some disease at lower level in food chain, the animals which will eat the pray may get affected by the disease. So it will eventually lead to more number of deaths of animals who will eat the pray. Veterinarians must do their duty in such events to control the disease and make the species free of it.

But sometimes it becomes very hard to make effort to save the species under every conditions. Human activities on the other hand may be revert back and can be controlled easily. An example is deforestation. Due to this the species living on tree are becoming extinct and endangered because their natural habitat is being snatched away in order to make houses for human being. Several species of apes is on verge of extinction. But now several programs regarding plantation of trees are started which are proving good and providing again the natural habitat for them.

The issue of making efforts to save the endangered species is indeed highly dubious. But human have got more IQ than any other organism on earth so it is a rightful duty to make effort to save the endangered species no matter what. High heat waves in some part of Australia set forests on fire and leads to loss of innocent animal lives. Then it takes months and even years to get everything right on track but the food and water scarcity in these areas leads to extinction of the species. Many predators are affected by this and not only predators who are responsible for control of population of other animals, many birds lose their habitat because they don’t find proper places to build nest and hatch the eggs to reproduce. Although it is not because of human activities that such situations are arising but they are disturbing the food chain and nature balance. So society must find solutions for such events or else a day would come when we tell our children about the various animals and birds through videos and photographs only.

In conclusion, it is duty of society in order to save endangered species no matter whether they are on potential extinction because of human activities or due to other factors. Human being is considered to be most intelligent species on earth and hence it is our duty to protect environment. Society should not behave cynically and should not act only if the extinction is result of human activities.