Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Since the establishment of media, exposing scandals have gained attentions as media helps it exposing it. Whenever a crime which is not caught on time, turns into a scandal. Scandal is more associated with people having strong political and financial backup. This helps them in avoiding any trouble later and pre-empt necessary provisions. In this way the criminals dodge the eyes of law. This become so worse when people, who know something is going on wrong, hesitate to speak and expose the crime.

World is full of aristocrats and bureaucrats, and a great percentage of them associated with some crime. They save themselves from law on the basis of power and money. This is not only limited to above said people. Even some other people who are backed up by these aristocrats and bureaucrats, indulge themselves into crime. This grows into even a bigger crime against which people are afraid to speak. Hence there has to be something which exposes them and make the society free from crime and exposing such people who are falsely respected and worshipped in society. Why people do not witness and testify against the scandals in court? The answer is simple, they are afraid of such people. Democracy turns into a nightmare because they could not make use of their personal freedom. But if done properly and with furtively, if scandals are exposed, they benefit the society by proving that, in the eyes of laws everyone is same, and crimes are not limited to the lower level but upper level of society too. Hence people become aware.

At prima facie, it looks so interesting to expose the scandals. But sometimes it is other way around. Some people use make wrong use of exposing the scandals. There have been situations, where people were falsely accused of scandals and put into media scrutiny. This lead to a harm on their reputation. People think that if something doesn’t sound good, then there is a scandal. This eventually leads to tumult and falsely accused people suffer. It is not always necessary to expose the problems through scandals. If people are aware and make proper use of their laws and freedom, the problems can be identified and solved in the very beginning before turning into pestilence.

It is an old saying that the visuals can be deceptive. A person appearing so sober, well mannered, well-educated on outside may have roots deep down in some crime. This was much proved by recent 2G scandal, self-styled god man scandal, food scandal, petroleum scandal in India. Then Telecom minister of India was accused of distributing the 2G bands to telecom cartel at a price very lower than expected to be. For this minister received hefty sum of money. Self-styled god man culture is popular in India owing to the religious culture of India. But some people made bad use of this and duped their followers by doing wrongdoings. This was only brought into limelight when scandals were exposed related to several so called god men because earlier people were afraid to talk against them as odds were in favour of god men due to their large positive though false image in society. Certainly there are some crimes in society which otherwise would not have been known to people if scandals were not exposed.

In conclusion, the scandals are useful as they addressed the problems which were otherwise too difficult to be brought into limelight. But people must be aware on their side too as not to let turn a small crime into a scandal. In exposing the scandal, every nuance must be captured so that people become aware and a strong punishment must be ensured to the defaulters.