When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

It is indeed a dubitable fact that whether modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic building or not. If given, then historic values associated with building will remain intact where as in other way around if used for modern purpose will lose its characteristics and people will almost forget about it in due time. Historic buildings are seen as retrospective and they mirror the past cultural heritage associated with them. But as they depreciate with time and planners see them as opportunity to transform into something new which fulfils modern purposes like opening a restaurant, theatre or any other purpose.

Historic buildings are a medium to relive the past. When someone enters into a historic building, its smell, wooden floors, small windows, wall full of portraits of previous occupants, enchant the person and takes him onto a journey into past. Historic buildings are a great medium to preserve the cultural heritage of locality and young people develop and understand history better. If the planners try to renovate them and put into some other use, it is evident that the building will lose its cultural inheritance. Locality of a town is also known by its old buildings and attracts tourists who come to visit some town and want to learn about history of the town.

Sometimes old buildings are renovated to put them into some other use. For e.g. an old building may be turned into a classical themed restaurant, theatre or resort. As old building are rarely used as houses or offices now, planners transform them to be used for modern purposes. It looks appealing because in today’s world where everything is being modernised from schools to offices. In this way old buildings can be put into some modern use and can be utilized for such purposes.

As the historic buildings opens a window of past, people are fascinated by its architecture a lot. Now a day’s one may not see so much old buildings but still there are some places where the buildings are preserved and it attracts tourists and architects a lot. In today’s date new buildings are being constructed on modern architecture. So old architecture mustn’t be forgot. These historic buildings remind of the old architecture. Shimla, a city in India is one of the city where the old buildings are still found intact and no harm done to them. Tourists from around the globe come here to see these old buildings and which reflect the Shimla when the British used to rule India. The Taj Mahal, one of the seven marvels in world, depict the story of eternal love of emperor Shajhan and his wife Mumtaz. If it is modernised for other use, this entire tale of love will be lost in the corridors of Taj Mahal and no tourist will wish to come and see it. Another example is The Birmingham Place, official residence of monarch of England attracts numerous tourists every year. It is not because it is big and one of a kind structure, but it is something which reflect the royal British culture and the ancient architecture of England. As we are moving forward in future at very fast rate and the generation is influenced by modernisation, only historical buildings are left which constantly remind of the beautiful past of a town.

In conclusion I would say that it is in fact necessary to give precedence to modern development over the preservation of the historical buildings. These are among the a few mediums remained till now which gives a peep into past and remind us how beautiful and magnificent a nation’s culture is and attracts tourism which helps in boasting a nation’s economy and popularity.